New Beginnings and Old Starts

photo

Digging through old boxes at my parents’ house, I found something I had forgotten all about: my first piece of knitting. It’s misshapen, awkward, and filled with holes, but it’s all mine. It’s a reminder of how far I’ve come and an inspiration of how far I have yet to go.

This ugly scarf means so much to me. My grandma tried to teach me to knit when I was a little girl. Like when she tried to teach me piano (which she is amazing at), I quit. I quit hard. I didn’t touch knitting needles again for about a decade. Looking at it, I’m actually kind of proud of how much work little me did on this. I quit piano much faster than I quit the scarf.

The yarn is a mystery, but it smells slightly of lanolin, so I’m betting it’s at least wool. It’s itchy, too, but the colour is definitely something I would have picked as a kid (and now, if I’m honest).

It’s fitting that I found the awkward beginning that eventually led to my passion for knitting. Why? Because my little family and I are about to set out on another beginning. It promises to be awkward and will take some time to get used to, but in a wonderful way. And it involves snow.

We’re moving to Michigan!

I have accepted a position in the heart of Michigan, and I can’t wait to get started. Aside from the amazing job (which is seriously exciting and a dream), let me point out one more thing. I get to actually wear the warm knits I make! As I’ve had to put up with 70s lately, I’m really looking forward to that in particular.

Hence the silence around here. Well, that’s part of it. I’m also working on a top secret project that is my dad’s birthday present. I have been completely monogamous on this project. I happen to know he peeks at the blog time to time, so I haven’t been able to share (though I will next week). If you’re on Instagram, you can see what I’ve been up to: fortheknitofit.

What projects have kept your needles or hooks busy lately? I’m dying to catch up!

13 thoughts on “New Beginnings and Old Starts

  1. Very snowy here in Michigan…but we will be glad to have you here. Don’t forget to bring a shovel!!! And, you might be interested in Millie’s Hats for Hope Initiative. We knit, crochet and loom all kinds of things for the needy made out of donated yarn and many needles that are also donated. Safe trip!!!

  2. What a sweet find, to remind you where your passion all started. Congrats on your new job. You will definitely get to wear all of those knitted garments here in Michigan. The snow is piled high and temps are cold. But I hear we are in for a warm up by weeks end. Welcome to Michigan and best of luck on the new job.

  3. Loved your post! My first knitting piece was also a scarf when I was about 10 years old. It was filled with holes and got wider as I split lots of stitches. It was beautiful! I kept it for eons. It looked much the same as yours only knitted with all different kinds of yarn … any leftovers my mom had from knitting projects.

  4. The scarf looks lovely and I’m glad it has brought back good memories for you. I still have my first hand spun yarn and take it out on occasion to highlight how far I have come in my spinning. Good luck on your move to the snowy state of Michigan!

  5. I love the colour of your scarf. It looks a lot like the colour I asked my mum to paint my bedroom when I was a kid. 🙂
    My first knit was a cream Aran-knit sweater, made when I was about 15. Oooh, yeah. No scarves, for me – straight in the deep end. I believe in biting off more than I can chew and chewing like crazy! I still have it, even though I cannot remember the last time I wore it and I have given away most of what I made since.

  6. Welcome to Michigan! I’m sitting at a hotel watching kids play in the warmth pf a pool while looking outside at the wintry mix falling.

  7. What a great find. I remember my first crochet, but not the first knitting project. Pretty color and so neat to have that first piece. Good luck on the new job, look forward to hearing about the adventure of it all.

  8. Ooo that’s a keepsake for sure! As a former Ohioan I suppose Michigan is okay, as long as you don’t start rooting against the Buckeyes. Hope the move goes well and congratulations on the new job!

Comments are closed.