A Noble Cowl and the 10 Mile Mark

Not perfect, but I love it

Not perfect, but I love it

I hate to freak anyone out, but there are now only 23 days until Christmas. I’m a little freaked out, but despite having a growing Christmas list, last week I decided to cast on a new project, something just for me. Maybe I’ll count this as my Christmas present to me?

On Wednesday, I cast on the A Noble Cowl by Emily Kausalik in some Madelinetosh Tosh Merino DK yarn I bought a couple years ago. The yarn has been sitting on my shelf forever it feels like, and it was just calling to me. It said, “Knit me now! I’m ready!” After a hunt on Ravelry, I picked the perfect project for it, and I’m so happy with the results.

A Noble Cowl is a free pattern on Ravelry, and it’s one I definitely recommend. The pattern was very easy to pick up, and the cowl knit up really quickly. My only complaint is I wish the pattern had been charted. I’m a chart girl. Charts give great visuals to how the pattern will turn out. I love just glancing down and seeing exactly how things should look. Especially when the pictures don’t really show off the pattern, like with this one. I had no idea what these shields were going to turn out like.

I did mess up, though. See those holes down each shield? Yeah, they shouldn’t be there. Gauge issues. I fought between a couple different sets of needles, and my decreases just didn’t sit right. They didn’t clean up in the blocking either, but got worse. So, I’m taking them as design features.

I have been tracking my knitting progress this year with Knit Meter, which you can spot on the right-hand side of this screen. I’ve been hovering in the upper 9.0s for a while now, and this cowl sent me over the 10 mile mark. That just blows my mind! I have knit approximately 17,827 yards this year, and I’m not done yet. I kind of want to cast on something new in celebration.

“But I can’t!” Says that little voice in my head. Christmas is only 23 days away, and I have 5 1/2 hats left. No, this wasn’t any procrastination on my part. I asked people a couple of months ago what they wanted, and they only just now got back to me. Luckily, I’m a fast knitter. I know I can get these done and sent out in time as long as I buckle down and focus. Next year, I’ll make up a new game plan so this doesn’t happen again.

Are you ready for the holidays?

23 thoughts on “A Noble Cowl and the 10 Mile Mark

  1. I have been struggling, like you, to stay focused on finishing the Christmas presents. I just took up spinning and all I want to do with my time is spin, or knit with what I have spun. :-). And now that I saw this post I have a cowl I want to make, and an idea for yarn to spin up and make it. 😉
    But I have been making good Christmas progress and I hope I can finish in time. I have one pair of socks, the armhole edging on a sweater vest, and half of one sock left. I think I can make it.

  2. I have 3-3/4 pairs of mittens and about 1/8 of a scarf to finish. I’m dreading the colorwork and know I should just wade right in!

  3. Wow. That’s beautiful. I bought some Mad Tosh for a light (lacey) scarf for myself and that just might be the pattern for me. It lies so flat. Did you block it already? The ‘design features’ look very nice. Did you use the stretchy cast on or do you think the normal cast on is sufficient? Thanks. Great job Ana!

  4. That cowl was one of my first lace projects. I’m still really proud of how it turned out. It’s a very satisfying knit.

  5. I am familiar with that lace pattern. I love it. When I read that the pattern is not charted, I thought I must have it so I’m off to Ravelry to find it now. Lovely job thank you.

  6. Ready for the holidays? ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

    You sound like you have it organized and in hand enough for both of us. 🙂

    Love the cowl, even with the extra lacy bit

  7. That really is a pretty pattern! I think I’ll check it out on Ravelry… I am sure I have some yarn calling out to be knit, too! 🙂

  8. There is a stitch discrepancy between rounds 9 & 11. The pattern repeat jumps from 15 sts to 16 sts. How do you accommodate this…when you get to the end of round 11 you’re one st short!

    • To be honest, I’m not entirely sure. It’s been so long, and I wasn’t always good about taking notes. I probably fudged it and added a stitch in somewhere to make it work, knowing me.

Comments are closed.