Weekend Wrap-Up: Deck the Halls!

photo

With my knitting group’s Christmas party quickly approaching, I’ve had ornaments on the brain. Ravelry is an excellent resource for finding ornament patterns, which didn’t help much. However, when I spotted these little guys, I knew my search was over.

I am working on a set of Snowball Buddies by Susan Claudino, and they are absolutely adorable. So far, I have a mouse and a reindeer. They’re not 100% complete yet, but they’re not far off.

These Snowball Buddies are very easy to knit. I think I can knit just the bauble part in about an hour. The details take a little longer, but not by much. The pattern is very straight-forward and easy to follow. I did think my mouse looked a little plain, so I made him his own little hat. The reindeer is, well, upside down compared to the pattern. He’s supposed to have a hat, not a sweater, but I had already sewed on the ears before I realised the mistake. I think he’s still pretty cute, and will be more so once he’s done.

The reindeer pictured above is also the second reindeer ornament I knit from this pattern. I started this project back in October, but the bauble disappeared after I set it down. I later found a fluffy kitten enjoying a brand new toy. Amp refused to give me back the reindeer, so I figured he could just keep it. Early Christmas present, right? I might make one just for Ziggy too, so they’ll both have their own.

I want to make the whole set of Snowball Buddies, which also includes an owl and a bunny. For this set, though, I’d change the owl to a penguin, which I think he already kind of looks like in the pattern pictures. Two of the ornaments are destined for the knitting group party, but I’m not sure where the other two will go. I might take them to mom’s and hang them on her tree.

Are you getting ready for the holidays?

15 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: Deck the Halls!

  1. VERY cute. I love the reindeer antlers. They’d make cute gift toppers too. R U making the Santa and the elf too (Rav pics)?

  2. They are lovely…I have a moggy that likes to share my knitted items…I had to make her her own baby blanket!

  3. I have cute knitted and felt ornaments on my to-do list, but I am not allowing myself to start them until I have finished making Christmas presents. I might be starting them on Boxing Day for next year’s Christmas!

  4. Those are freaking adorable! I might have to try something like that next year. I ended up knitting an angel topper since we lost ours.

Comments are closed.