Obsessed: The Irish Coffee Sweater

photo

I’m posting a little later than usual in the day today. I have a reason. Whether it’s a good one or not, I can’t say. What’s the reason? I was knitting.

Every morning, I wake up at 5 am, grab my knitting, turn on a podcast, and start knitting. On Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, I pause at about 6am to write my blog post. Today, I just couldn’t stop. I am seriously obsessed with this sweater.

In fact, I barely tore away from it just now to write, because I really want to share this with you. I have been knitting on this sweater every morning, every lunch break, and every evening all week. I cast on on Sunday, and I’m in danger of finishing this sweater by Sunday. No joke. My husband and I are going to the DFW area on Saturday, so there will be knitting time then, and then we’re driving down to Houston for a mini-vaca the next day. More knit time.

I’m getting ready to do the edging for the sweater. If it looks a little short, that’s because it is. Or rather, because I am. I am only 5 feet 3 inches tall, and the sweater is designed to be tunic length. I know from experience that that length just makes me look shorter. Instead, I’m stopping around the hip, a little bit below. This will also ensure that I have enough yarn. Since I recycled a sweater for this sweater, there’s no more yarn when this runs out.

I don’t know what’s come over me. Usually I alternate what I work on throughout the week. A little bit of this, a little bit of that, cast on something new. Ever since the 30 Day Sweater Challenge, I seem to be getting more monogamous. When I’m working on a project, I’m only working on that project. Now, if only I could convince myself to use this monogamous energy to finish up some WIPs rather than new projects, I’d be in great shape.

Are you typically a monogamous knitter? Or are you (like I usually am) prone to a collection of WIPs?

13 thoughts on “Obsessed: The Irish Coffee Sweater

  1. I can’t knit, but when I’m crocheting, i try to keep to one project at a time. Mostly because the house gets real messy when I work at multiple projects at once. Skeins of yarn and hooks everywhere 😛 but right now, I’m making loads of African flowers for a huge owl pillow, which gets a bit boring. So I pick up little projects in between 🙂

  2. I’m a multiple WIP kind of gal. Although I’ve been known to occasionally burn through a project!! Generally I have at least three projects going – always a pair of socks, then hats, scarves, shawls, mittens, vests, sweaters. Sometimes I’ve even had three pairs of socks going at the same time!!

  3. I’m usually guilty of having far too many WIPs on the go, but I’m always surprised at how quickly projects get finished when I work on them and them alone, not that this makes me any less likely to cast on something new!

  4. I would self-identify as polyamorous when it comes to my knitting, but I have also had long stints of dedication to single projects too. There are productivity benefits to both approaches. I found that I got a lot more projects competed when I had to commit to one project at a time (I wasn’t allowed to cast on a new project until I completely finished the one I was working on – blocking and weaving ends included!). I was always so excited to start something new that my motivation to finish was always high! But now, I like to have a number of projects on the go so that I can take smaller, easier projects with me and knit wherever and whenever I can, leaving bigger, more complicated projects at home to work on in more dedicated chunks. I would say limiting yourself to 3 or 4 projects is still a good idea though!

  5. I’ve admired that pattern for a while too. Good for you for being so disciplined and getting up early to knit. I’m not sure even knitting could get me out of my warm bed at 5 am.

  6. I have too many WIPs to actually admit to, although at the moment, like you, I am manically working on one. It’s rather strange but I think the motivation is that it’s a small WIP and I can see the end ahead of me! I like your top very much – hope we get to see a pic of you wearing it.

  7. Wow, you get up really early. I don’t know if I would be able to do it. I think I prefer the evening for that while watching a TV show after dinner with my boyfriend.

    BTW, I’m hosting a give away. The prize is a pattern of your choice from Ravelry. You just have to leave a comment on my last post.

  8. That looks fantastic!!! I vary between monogamous and having a ton of WIPs. I mean, I always have other WIPs, but I might only be paying attention to one. 🙂 I can get obsessed with an item, but sometimes if that happens to be a sweater it ends up being a stay-at-home project as it gets larger and larger since it’s harder to transport. I usually have a pair of socks or other small project to take with me to work.

Comments are closed.