November Podcast Round-Up

Ok, since my confession of becoming newly addicted to podcasts, I keep finding more and more great ones to listen to and/or watch! That’s good because I keep waking up earlier and earlier (4 am now thanks to the stupid time change), and I now have tons of time in the mornings to relax, knit, and enjoy a great podcast.

Have you watched Yarnraising yet? If you haven’t, you need to go check Malia out right now. I’ll wait. Are you completely hooked? I am! As a new spinner, I really enjoy hearing Malia talk about fibers, as well as checking out her amazing knits. When I sit down to watch her podcast, it’s like sitting down with a really knowledgeable and down-to-earth friend who can always teach me something new. One thing that I have been envying since first spying it on her podcast is a Charkha spinning wheel. I want one!

Another podcast I’m really enjoying is Hudson Valley Knits. Amy knits and spins, and oh my gosh are her projects gorgeous! In her most recent post, she’s wearing this beautiful Cactus Flower Shawl by Rosemary (Romi) Hill. I want to steal this shawl!

Looking for a short podcast to fill up a few minutes? I have a great one for you: Knitting with Sir Anselot and Lady G Podcast. (Ansel and Greta are Anna’s pets, and they are adorable!) Anna’s podcasts are short, but very enjoyable. She is running a sock KAL right now on her Ravelry Group. It’s running until December 14th, so go check it out!

The Homespun Podcast is brand new, but I’m hooked. I’ll be tuning in regularly. Clare and Molly film their podcast in Germany, which I’m jealous of. (I’m just starting to learn Germany and would love to travel there.) Because I also did a start-stop-start-stop-Go! on my knitting addiction, I really enjoyed hearing about how they got started knitting, particularly Clare’s.

I love finding out about new (including simply new to me) podcasts. It’s like my knitting group keeps expanding. I get to hang out and knit with all of these amazing knitters, learn from them, and steal some of their ideas. I’m also really enjoying seeing what their knitting so I can find new patterns, new yarns, and new fibers to try out.

If you have any podcasts you think I should check out (new or old), let me know! I’m always interested in checking them out.

8 thoughts on “November Podcast Round-Up

  1. Hi Deanna,

    glad to hear that you have now found Podcasting. I got just as hooked as you and totally related to your blog today. Over the years I’ve enjoyed The Moth podcast. Real life stories unscripted.

    Thank you for posting your story, I enjoyed it 🙂

  2. Yarnraising is in my podcast list but the others aren’t so I’ll definitely be checking those out. I love podcasts, it’s a like a little knitting group for when I have the time. Included on my list are: the Knitmore girls, Happyspiderknits, the Knitting Den, Joeli’s Kitchen, the Yarniacs, watcha swatching & craft stash. These are probably my current favourite knitting ones.

Comments are closed.