Weekend Wrap-Up: An FO!

photo-2

I finished something! I’m quite pleased! Aside from the sweater, it feels like it’s been so long since I had an FO.

The Dryad by Jared Flood is done! Happy dance! I had a real focus this weekend. By Friday, I had completed 13 repeats of the chart, and I only needed 21. That seems really close, but each repeat is 24 rows, so it felt like a lot more work. I stayed up late Friday night and got up early Saturday, just determined. Once we got home from the Heart Walk, I just buckled down. I turned on my Dracula audiobook (the one with Tim Curry and Alan Cumming narrating) and just knocked it out.

I love this pattern, really love it. Jared Flood has to be one of my favourite designers, and I love Brooklyn Tweed. The Dryad pattern was very easy to read. I think the scarf turned out absolutely beautifully. I can’t wait to wear it the one day in Texas that it’s actually cold! Actually, I wear it before it’s chilly anyway. I love this scarf too much for it to hide in the closet.

I still need to block the scarf, but I was too excited. I had to show you. I also learned a new technique with this scarf. It’s not written in the pattern, though. I heard it on, I think, the Just One More Row Podcast. Because this scarf is so long, I had to join more yarn to keep going. (And because of mean kittens, I had to join in broken lengths of yarn as well.) The technique for this that I’m not completely hooked on is the Magic Knot.

I used 3 full hanks of Malabrigo Worsted in Pollen, and part of a 4th. I bought the 4th recently from The Knitting Nest in Austin because I honestly thought I was going to run out of yarn. I think that if I had done just 20 repeats instead of 21, I’d have had plenty of yarn. I barely broke into that 4th hank. I’m thinking the rest should become a hat of some kind. We’ll see!

Next on my to-finish list is my mom’s shawl. Hopefully I’ll have that as an FO to share with you this Friday!

What projects did you work on this weekend?

6 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: An FO!

  1. I finished sock one of a pair for my son, the body of my granddaughter’s sweater, and 10 rows of Habitat, a Jarod Flood hat. You may want to check out the hat for your left over yarn.

  2. Nice work! I’m a Jared Flood/Brooklyn Tweed fan too. I’m currently knitting Timberline from his men’s collection for hubby’s birthday. Feels like I’m knitting a bear! 🙂

Comments are closed.