Lunch Break WIP: Two Socks on One Circ

Two little toes

Two little toes

I took a break from knitting during lunches at work lately to walk, but the past few days have been a tad rainy. With no waterproof shoes, I decided maybe it’s time to stay in and knit a little. My pick? Some warm, comfy socks.

I think I’m going to appreciate that decision today especially. The high is 59, and it’s supposed to rain all day. In my book, that counts as a gorgeous day. Unfortunately, I really don’t have any waterproof shoes, so I can’t go outside and really enjoy it. I did spend some time with the lovely weather yesterday when I got locked out of my house, but that’s another story.

I’ve been wanting to try two socks on one circular needle for a while now, and this seemed like a great time to start. I cast on the socks yesterday and have only done a little bit of the toe. The yarn is Felici Self-Striping from Knit Picks, but I can’t remember the colorway; it was something on clearance a while back. Because the two-at-a-time technique is new to me, I wanted to work with a pattern I knew. I chose my go-to: the Sport Weight Toe-Up Socks with Gusset Heel (5/15/07) by Wendy D. Johnson. This is a really easy toe-up sock that I’ve knit a couple of times (in fact, one of the extremely few patterns I’ve knit more than once).

I’m not going to lie. So far, this is feeling a bit chaotic. I tend to knit my socks one at a time on DPNs. It’s easy to me. These two socks are taking a lot more focus than I’m used to. That being said, I’m still enjoying working on them. I wanted a challenge, and I got one. I feel like they’ll get a bit easier, though, once I’m into the foot and not at the very tip of the toes. Right now, I’m just figuring out all the movements.

Do you knit socks? If you do, how do you prefer to knit them? (Oh, and any tips for someone new to two socks at a time?)

17 thoughts on “Lunch Break WIP: Two Socks on One Circ

  1. I recently knitted my first toe-up two-at-a-time socks and found it really enjoyable. Ofcourse I tend to knit things (sleeves, mittens etc.) two at a time so I am familiar with the routine. Just don’t over think it, you’ll get the rythm and soon you’ll only knit things two-at-a-time.

  2. it was suggested to me to try to knit pair things together on a set of rounds yet, I’m a bit intimidated. Also, I’ve yet to knit some socks but I’m going to check the pattern you knit in this post! Sounds promising. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this!

  3. I’ve been thinking of trying this for a while, but I really love to knit on dpns and I’m currently in the mindset of sticking with what I enjoy… maybe I’ll try it with some thick wool, so it won’t take too long first time round!

  4. I have exclusively knitting 2 socks at a time in circulars and I found that’s the perfect way for me. I tried DPNs once but I was not comfortable enough with it. I like circulars and 2 at a time is the perfect solution to avoid sss.

  5. That’s how I make all of my socks: toe up, two at a time. If the pattern isn’t written for two at a time, be aware that you will likely have to work heel flaps, heel turns, and gusset pick ups one at a time. I haven’t knitted that particular pattern, so I can’t say how it would work in that pattern, but I have several patterns on Ravelry that make heels in that way. Summer Slice is free, if you want to just read through that section to get some ideas.

  6. Two at a time, I can’t even get my head around how that works! But then, lots of people see me knitting on DPN and thing the same thing I’m sure… Good on you for challenging yourself!

  7. This is something I’m planning to try next year. I just recently learned how to knit socks with two circulars instead of DPNs and I’m really enjoying using the two circulars. I like the idea of knitting two socks at once so I’m hoping it will go well for me! Loving your colors so far, cannot wait to see how the end up.

  8. I’ve knitted a lot of socks, mostly one at a time from the top down, which is still my favorite way of making them. I’ve done two at a time from the top down. It is nice to know that both socks will be exactly the same length and it cuts down on second sock syndrome. In the end, I go back to one at a time just because it’s easier to start. I’m quite lazy.

  9. I love knitting socks! I always have socks on the needles as my “carry-with-me” knitting. I’ve used DP and circular (Magic Loop) and like both methods, although I think Magic Loop is the faster way. I think the 2 at a time on 1 circular is a great method and plan to try it after I finish all the projects in my queue that have a holiday deadline! Thanks for the post!

Comments are closed.