Weekend Wrap-Up: Ellington Sock 1

Sock pre-blocking

Sock pre-blocking

Instead of working on the hat for my friend, I decided to focus on finishing my Ellington sock. I had gotten down to the toe during my lunch hours, and all that was left to finish it up.

I’ve gone to love to “hm” with this sock. It has nothing to do with the pattern and everything to do with my execution of it. The sock looks … odd, for lack of a better word. Apparently my foot in this pattern is actually a small and not a medium. The toe came out square because I couldn’t do too many decreases or the sock would’ve been way too long.

So, what to do? I have more than enough yarn to try again with the second sock. If I’m doing all the calculations properly, I need a large leg and a small foot. Awkward, but potentially doable. I’m going to try that first. If I like it, I’ll do another sock like that. If not, I’m moving on to the next pattern. I may just need a break.

Tomorrow marks day one of the 30 Day Sweater Challenge. I have to miss the first day as husband and I will be in San Antonio for a green card interview (yay). For travelling, I’m going to work on my shawl for the Westknits Mystery Shawl KAL 2013: Color Craving by Stephen West, mostly because I don’t need to follow a chart. I have a hard time with charts in cars, otherwise I would work on my friend’s hat.

The Westknits Mystery Shawl KAL started September 13th, and I was a bad participant. I mean a BAD participant. I had gathered up all my yarn, would it into cakes, and prepared my needles. Then, I peeked into the spoiler thread. I just shook my head. I was not a fan originally. I waited a couple of weeks, watched a couple more clues passed by, and now I’ve decided to get on with it. I’m quite a bit behind. Technically, I should’ve just gone ahead with the MKAL, even if I didn’t like how the shawl looked for the first couple of weeks.

How was your weekend?

 

8 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: Ellington Sock 1

  1. I’m doing the MKAL. I think the beauty of the pattern comes out in color combination. I went into it with complete trust that Stephen would pull out something amazing by the end, based on his other patterns. If for nothing else, there are some cool new techniques that are worth learning. Good luck! And make sure you have loooooong needles with you.

  2. Lovely sock. Good luck with the second one. I’ve been too much of a scaredy to join in with a Mystery KAL but Stephen West’s shawls do always look great. I guess I’d have been tempted to peep at the spoiler thread too!

Comments are closed.