NFO: A Whovian Monkey

Just in time!

Just in time!

After a couple weeks of hard work and a little grief, the monkey is getting ever closer to being complete. I had my doubts, especially after having to redo the scarf, but I’m happy with the results so far. I’m down to just needing the finishing touches.

When I packed my bag for knitting group yesterday morning, I planned to work on my Ellington Socks by Cookie A. On a whim, I grabbed the box filled with the mini-Whovian scarf yarn and shoved it in my bag too. I figured I could work on the scarf at lunch and then the socks at group. As I sat down at the table for knitting group, I realised how soon October really was and opted to focus on the scarf instead (especially as I got nothing done because I was focused on gathering pictures for my husband’s and my green card appointment next week).

I did knit the scarf in the round, and I love how it looks. The lines are clean and crisp. All that is left at this point are the tassels. I’m thinking of having a tassel party tonight to finish up, as I have three scarves awaiting their finishing touches. Three? What? There’s my little brother’s Whovian scarf, this mini scarf, and oh, I don’t know, there might be a finished Linen Stitch to the Rescue scarf (pattern by Audrey Knight).

Little happy dance moment. I finished it last weekend after getting so mad at the original mini scarf. I have just enough yarn left for a short fringe on the ends. Because I only had one skein of yarn (Madelinetosh 80/10/10 Fingering in Dust Bowl), the scarf is rather short, but it does wrap around once, so I’m happy with it. Oh, and is it ever so soft!

This weekend, once the tassels are done, I’ll be working on the hat for my friend. Luckily, I still have a handful of days before October starts. Then, let the 30 Day Sweater Challenge commence! I have the pattern all picked out. I’ll be working on Hugo by Veronik Avery from the BT Men collection for my husband. It’s a gorgeous sweater, although maybe a little on the ambitious side for someone who hasn’t completed a sweater yet. I’m really excited to get started!

What are your weekend plans?

9 thoughts on “NFO: A Whovian Monkey

  1. Love the scarf!
    First off, I’m going to try to sleep, my baby son is keeping us awake at the moment between teething and him just being too busy to sleep! 🙂 After that, I want to paper-piece some lavender sachets, and chose the fabrics for my next block-of-the-month!

  2. Pingback: Looking forward | shutter and ink.

Comments are closed.