New Obsession: Knitting Podcasts

Normally, when I wake up in the mornings, I sit quietly in the living room and either knit or work on the day’s blog post. Sometimes there’s some scolding of the kittens, especially as they’re now waking me up at 4:45-5:00 a.m. in the morning. There is now an addition to my routine: listening to podcasts.

I’ve mentioned a few times that I listen to the Knit Picks’ Podcast. I started listening to this podcast 4 or 5 years ago while living in London. I didn’t knit or crochet at the time, but I just loved listening to Kelley Petkun. She formed the basis for my addiction. I wanted to try anything she tried. I feel as if she almost taught me how to knit, even more than YouTube did.

I also regularly watch The Fat Squirrel Speaks podcast, although not as regularly as I’d like. I’m a  little behind. Amy Beth is probably the most energetic person. I love watching her. She is hilarious. It’s like sitting down with a good friend and having a laugh while she shows you her amazing projects. To be honest, I think watching her video podcasts inspired me to get more into spinning. She seems to always have some gorgeous fiber in progress or finished handspun yarn.

For the longest time, those were the only podcast I listened to/watched. I’m happy to say, that’s no longer the case! I’ve added a couple more to my list, and I’m on the lookout for more yet.

One of my new favorites is Just One More Row.  I stumbled across the podcast while perusing knitting blogs on WordPress, and I’m glad I did. Dana and Brittany are fun to listen to, and you should see the projects they’re working on! When I listen to their podcasts, I feel like I’m in knitting group, sitting around and gabbing with good friends. Dana also has an online yarn shop called Unwind Yarn Company, which I recommend you check out. I’m currently in love with the Eire Journey Sock Yarn.

PS: Just One More Row is having a giveaway right now and ending on the 28th. Listen to their latest podcast (Episode 69: Knitting Weather!) for details!

I came across the Happy Spider Knits podcast on Monday. It’s a fairly new podcast, only 3 episodes in so far, but I can tell already that I’m going to really enjoy it. I love her voice. It could be my partiality to accents, but Happy Spider also just has a soft, soothing voice. She knits and spins, and she recently finished the Hue Shift Afghan by Kerin Dimeler-Laurence, which just blows my mind. I recommend checking out her Episode 3 Show Notes to see the finished blanket. It’s gorgeous.

I’m always on the hunt for new podcasts to listen to or watch. What are your favorites?

19 thoughts on “New Obsession: Knitting Podcasts

  1. I have also listened to Knit Picks for years. I’ll give Just One More Row (how many times have I ever said that?) to my podcast list. Here are some others I enjoy: Yarncarft; Knitmoregirls’s Podcast; 2 Knit Lit Chicks; Ready Set Knit, Knit Knit Cafe, and Fiber Hooligan, not necessarily in that order. Thanks for sharing your blog, it’s great!

  2. I’m going to check these out! I regularly listen to the Knitmore Girls, Knit Knit Cafe, and Stash & Burn. I’ve just started checking out Electric Sheep, Subway Knits, and Wool Junkies. I can’t wait to add more to my list!

  3. So many great knit podcasts to watch and more every week! I’m learning so much about wools and yarns, spinning and dyeing, I have never knitted a stitch in my life, LOL!!
    That’s why I really love Fat Squirrel’s latest Crochet along(CAL/KAL), I have a chance to join in the group 🙂

    I’ve found Malia’s Yarnraising Podcast to be very informative and she’s seems like such sweet person, too.

    • I second stash and burn and also the doubleknit twins (doubleknit.net). When I get some time, I hope to get some yarniacs and web’s podcast listening in as those come recommended by others.

  4. My favourites include the Knitmore girls, 90% knitting, the KnittingDen, Cast on & the Stockinette Zombies, but I’m always on the look out for more to add to my viewing/listening list.

  5. I listen to knitting podcasts on my commute and my favourites are KnitPicks (the first one I discovered), the Knitmore Girls, and Knit Knit Cafe. I used to listen to Cast On but it got erratic and then seemed to stop altogether – understandably when you consider this is a free service and must be quite a commitment to sustain long term. But for anyone missing Brenda Dayne’s distinctive voice she has recently turned up as the narrator in the reading of The Age of Innocence on my absolute favourite podcast, CraftLit – “the podcast for crafters who love books”. It is by the totally brilliant Heather Ordover who has been an English professor. It starts with chat about her life and crafting life then moves on to an episode from a classic book which she introduces with great insight. Highly recommended.

  6. Pingback: Episode 4 Show Notes | Happy Spider Knits Podcast

  7. My “never miss it” podcast is Knitting Pipeline. I also regularly listen to Knit Circus, Craft Lit, and Heartland Knits. Sometimes the Knit Knit Café. I think I like the audio podcasts best.

Comments are closed.