A Monkey in Progress

Slightly creepy looking in the early stages, but well on its way!

Slightly creepy looking in the early stages, but well on its way!

Leading into October, I’m trying to wrap up any projects that have  a deadline. Luckily, there are now only two: a monkey and a hat. I figured the best place to start would be with the most complicated project.

So far, the monkey has proven to not really be that complicated after all, which I’m really happy about. I cast on the Monkey Jacobus by Annita Wilschut on Monday in Wool of the Andes worsted from Knit Picks. As you can see in the picture, he’s coming along quite nicely (although also a little creepy)! All of the main parts are done, and all that’s left are the ears, muzzle, and tail. Oh, and the miniature Doctor Who scarf. Yep!  He’s a Whovian monkey.

The pattern is surprisingly easy to follow and has pictures along the way. While sometimes the photos were helpful, I think they did contribute to my thinking this project was more difficult than it turned out to be. I had a much easier time scrolling past the photos and going straight to the written pattern, focusing on one line at a time.

I’ll also say that the tags on the Ravelry page were a tad misleading. Okay, one tag was, at least for me. It says the monkey is “seamless.” It’s probably just me, but in my mind, seamless means no sewing. Well, there aren’t really that many seams, so I shouldn’t complain too much. I will have to sew on the ears and the muzzle, but that’s about it. Luckily, I’m getting better at that.

The plan for today and the rest of the weekend is to finish the monkey and get started on the scarf. Since it’s a miniature, I don’t think the scarf will take very long at all. Once he’s done, it’s time for another Béret généreux by Isabelle Allard. There are very few patterns that I like to repeat (what with all the amazing patterns out there to try), but this one was specifically requested. Once the hat is done, that’s it! I’m ready for the 30 Day Sweater Challenge.

Ready for the weekend? What are you planning to working on?

8 thoughts on “A Monkey in Progress

  1. Pingback: M is for Monkeying Around | Alphabet Story

Comments are closed.