Weekend Wrap-Up: Whovian Scarf

The scarf, as modelled by my lovely husband

The scarf, as modelled by my lovely husband

After having a decommissioned wrist for a couple weeks (long story) and finally figuring out a way to work around it (temporarily knitting that other, English way), I have made progress! Not just progress. In fact, I have cast something off.

The knitting for the Doctor Who Scarf is complete! I tend to knit Continental rather than English, so it was slower going than I expected, but I cast off the scarf yesterday afternoon. It took everything in me to sit still and weave in the ends and not just toss it aside and celebrate. Luckily, I had the foresight to start weaving in ends as I went, so I only had half the scarf (ha!) to do.

The boy who is getting this scarf starts his first day of college today. He decided to go to school up in South Dakota at our mom’s alma mater, which by the way is 1000+ miles away from here. I can’t believe how much he’s grown up! When we moved to Texas from South Dakota, he had just turned six. Now, he’ll be sporting a huge, geeky (yay) scarf where it actually snows in the winter time. At least he won’t be too terribly cold.

The scarf is not completely finished. The tassels are missing. As much as I love my brother, I couldn’t make tassels last night. For one thing, I’m nearly out of most of my colours, so I’ll need to buy some more yarn. Why buy yarn just for tassels? Well, this isn’t my only Who scarf. Β My cousin asked if I could make a monkey that had a miniature scarf, so the yarn will be used up fairly soon. Β The other reason I didn’t finish was I am tired of looking at all that garter, all 850 rows of it. I’m ignoring it for a spell.

What projects have you been working on lately?

Good luck to all the teachers, parents, and kids (and young adults) on your first day of school today! If it’s not your first day, good luck all the same!

13 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: Whovian Scarf

  1. Love the scarf! Perfect for making the transition from Texas to the cold winter up north!

    Speaking of Dr. Who, I saw the cutest trouser socks the other day in some store that had movie and TV memorabilia. They had all the colors of the 4th Doctor’s scarf with same varying width stripes — but just in sock form. So. Cool.

  2. I’m glad to see you back!:) I was wondering why I hadn’t seen you around for several weeks. I hope all is well. That scarf looks so warm and comfy, I’m sure the young man getting it will appreciate it out there! Hugs to you!

  3. Woohoo! Great accomplishment! I just cast on the Season 12 scarf….my daughter is a ‘Whovian’ and it’s a surprise for Christmas. I’m not looking forward to all those ends……

  4. The scarf looks great! It’s such a feeling of accomplishment finally binding off that sucker, isn’t it? I made one, to, and I was so sick of garter stitch by the end of it. πŸ˜›

  5. I love the scarf.
    I confess I did not know that there were two styles of knitting. I have just had to quickly look up the difference online and learned that I am an English knitter. I can see how the other way is quicker (and I am slow). Maybe I have to give up my granny’s technique and give continental a go.
    Thank you! Your post has again taught me something new.

Comments are closed.