J’Adore Tuesdays: Austenland

I have a big confession to make. I mean, this is huge. I do not like Jane Austen. Actually, let’s correct that: I don’t like her books. I don’t know the woman, so I can’t say I don’t like her. I’ve tried so hard to like her books because I thought that’s what girls did, liked Jane Austen. I tried to read Pride and Prejudice, and I did finish Northanger Abbey, but only because it was for a class.

Now you’re confused, right? How can I put something Austen-related into the J’adore category? Well, I don’t hate all of the movies based on her books. Bride and Prejudice was fun. I even liked Lost in Austen, and I’m really looking forward to Austenland. I think it looks funny.

Are you an Austen fan? Should I try again, and if so, which book?

23 thoughts on “J’Adore Tuesdays: Austenland

  1. I am a picky Austen fan. 😉 Loved P&P and Northanger Abbey (and Emma), but Could Not get into Sense and Sensibility (as much as I love the movie). Bride & Prejudice was great; couldn’t stand Keira Knightley’s P&P but adore A&E’s P&P (mmmmmm Colin Firth). /shrug.

    Hard to say if you should try again, because I would’ve suggested P&P or Northanger Abbey to read! LOL! Maybe Emma?? But it’s been a while since I read it myself.

  2. I think if you didn’t like P&P then Austen probably isn’t your cup of tea. I always preferred the Brontës anyway!

  3. You speak blasphemy! Just kidding. But really, I LOVE Austen. (Admittedly I did major in British lit). I agree with the first comment – you have to watch A&E’s version of Pride and Prejudice. Colin Firth is great but so is Jennifer Ehle. My personal novel favorite is Emma.

    • I don’t have a ” thing” for her books, but have something to say! 😉
      I just reread a fantasy series I first read when I was a teenager. To my surprise I have totally changed my mind about them. Being twice as old gives you a different perspective on things! LOL!!! I loved the relationships between the charaters and the way they spoke and acted. I guess I was more of a thrillseeker as a teenager and then felt that the storytelling was way too slow. Now I loved it completely and was sad to have finished it. Just hope that the writer would finish part three…. It has been a ” lifetime”! Ha ha!!!
      So, maybe it is worthwhile to try to retead one of her books, you may feel different about them now! ( or maybe not 😉 )
      Esther

      • Esther, would you mind sharing the name of that fantasy series? I’m just wondering if it’s one I haven’t read yet . . . I’m always looking for something new in that line. Thanks. ~ Linne

    • I think ‘Emma’is the best. but you probably just aren´t an Austen type person. I´m ‘domestic’ which helps!

  4. P&P was my favorite book as a teenager, but I’ve since moved onto Mansfield Park. You should try that one. Although… you will either love the heroine, Fanny Price, or want to slap her. lol. When I tried reading it as a girl, she annoyed me.

    My all-time favorite book (which I still read at least once a year) is The Secret Garden. I know it’s not Austen, but you can’t go wrong with a mysterious garden.

  5. Oehw I want to see that movie!
    I cannot blame you, although I do love Jane Austen. Actually, my remarks that I want to marry in a regency dress made my fiancé propose to me last sunday 😉

  6. I have to be honest, usually I love a good book, but while I will watch any Jane Austen film or TV series I struggle to get into the books. Perhaps it is the old fashioned language which doesn’t flow so well to modern minds and also has an association with school set texts.

  7. Ha ha call me sad but I think Pride and Prejudice is one of the all time literary greats. Beautiful use of language, wonderful cast of superbly drawn characters (which is why the movies work so well – it’s easy to pick people to play them) and great romantic storyline. And this was my opinion even before Colin Firth (the greatest Mr Darcy ever) emerged from the lake in his wet shirt.

  8. I’m the same way. As an author I thought it was my duty to like Jane Austen and Shakesphere. I can’t get through any of their novels. I don’t know what made me pick up Austenland but it is one of my favorite books! I can’t wait for the movie. Have you read the sequel to Austenland yet? It’s just as good. -RB Austin

  9. I’m lucky; I love books written long ago; I love the language, the characters, the pace, all that and more. I think to enjoy them it helps to have more of a classical education. I was lucky, too, that the change to ‘modern’ education came about just a year or two behind me; my sibs got the new stuff and I, thank heavens, got the old. What a difference it has made in my life, too. But the other thing, I think, is that people do have individual tastes; not everything I read is enjoyed by my friends and I certainly don’t enjoy all of what they read, either. But the variety is what makes for good friendships, eh? ~ Linne

  10. I love Jane Austen’s books. But don’t worry if you don’t, liking a book or an author is subjective anyway, and everyone is allowed to like what they want!

  11. OK, I must have lived in a bubble or something. I have never read a Jane Austen book. Don’t even know when I first heard the name, but I really don’t have a clue about her or any of her books. I now have to get a Jane Austen Book. Austenland looks very cute and I just love Kerri Russell.

  12. The second chapter of Sense and Sensibility where wife undermines her husband’s initial generosity, and promise to his father to support his sisters, is wincemakingly acute.

    I like Persuasion best, I think. Ann Elliot is very appealing character – at risk if being left on the shelf at advanced age of 27!

    And hooray that Jane is going to be depicted on the £10 note after a great campaign to get more women on the currency. Very apt as the power of money is a theme under the surface of all her books – written at a time when very few women were able to be in control of their own or had means acquire it – unless they married well.

  13. I think that Jane Austen is a genius, but not everyone likes her! The pacing of her books can be really slow, and she portrays all her characters honestly, warts and all! But it can get a bit cringe-worthy at times. P&P is my favorite book of hers, but my second favorite would have to be Sense and Sensibility.

  14. If you couldn’t get into Pride and Prejudice – forget about it! Just knit/crochet something from the period and be done : ) What’s wrong with not liking someone’s writing style? At least you tried!

Comments are closed.