Weekend Wrap-Up: The Béret Généreux

Le Hat, a little uneven on the blocking, but finished nonetheless

Le Hat, a little uneven on the blocking, but finished nonetheless

Weekends go by too quickly. That’s my opinion, anyway. Despite what seemed like a minute, I managed to get a lot of progress done on the Doctor Who scarf, and I finished the béret généreux.

That’s right! I finished something! I finished work on the Béret généreux by Isabelle Allard Sunday morning. It’s been in the kittens’ time-out room blocking since then. Overall, I am happy with how the hat turned out, even if it’s huge. Not huge like the brim is so big it fits around my neck (a problem I had a lot early on when starting knitting), but really long. I blocked it like a beret (around a plate) to give it some more shape. I think it looks pretty good.

The pattern is very easy to follow. There’s some instruction for the ribbing, and then the rest of the pattern is a chart. I am a big fan of charts when it comes to cabling and colorwork. I find I have a much easier time keeping track of where I am. Plus, because I can see the row below on the chart, I can see very quickly when I’ve messed up, which did happen a couple of times.

I used Knit Picks’ Wool of the Andes in various bright colors for the hat. I think the colors turned out ok. I don’t know that I did a good job in that aspect. At first, I wanted the colors to flow smoothly into each other, but the person who wanted the hat wanted really bright colors, and I couldn’t figure out how to flow evenly without buying a ton of yarn. I know, I’m cheap. I think I’d feel better about the colors if I had done a better job dividing the stripes up. All but the yellow are fairly even, but then the yellow is twice the size of all the other stripes.

Safe to say, color is not my forte yet. Honestly, if it were my hat, I would’ve picked one color and done a few shades of it, like ice blue to a dark blue.

The Doctor Who scarf, is coming along wonderfully! I think I calculated that I have 154 rows left until I reach the halfway point. Yay! I know, that sounds like a lot, but with this scarf, it’s a drop in the bucket. The scarf is actually going by quite easily. I think that’s the nice thing about mindless knitting projects. I can just sit back after work, relax, and let my hands do their thing. (If you have not learned how to knit garter or stockinette without looking, I highly recommend it.) Now that Camp Nanowrimo is done (for me anyway, woohoo!), I have more time that I can work on it.

What projects did you work on this weekend?

22 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: The Béret Généreux

  1. Beautiful! I’ve been working on a purple duck and a cashmere entrelac scarf for my sister’s birthday.

  2. Oooh I love this hat! I’ve have just started knitting hats and I’m having the same problem you’d had. The brim is massive! oh well practise makes perfect 🙂

    • Sure! Slip 1 stitch from the left needle to the right (not knitting it). Slip the next stitch same as the first. Then, pass the first stitch you slipped over the second.

      Usually (or at least in other instances when I’ve seen it) sk2po means slip the first stitch, knit two together, and pass the slipped stitch over the decrease, making it a double decrease, but that doesn’t seem to be the case in this pattern.

      You are going to do this twice for each pattern repeat, once on the second stitch in the repeat and once on the last stitch. I used stitch markers to help me be sure I was in the right spot.

      I hope that helps! 🙂

  3. I think your hat is lovely and the colors are perfect. You did a great job with all that pattern in it. I don’t think I would attempt something like that. This weekend I tried starting another pidge scarf, but it was not to be. After the 8th time of trying to get it right, I gave up. I did get it back on the needles last night and am hoping it will go smoothly from here 🙂

  4. What a beautiful hat! I love the colours and the pattern.
    Knitting without looking is the best! I sit and knit in front of the tv and come away with a new blanket square for the quilt I’m making. x

Comments are closed.