J’Adore Tuesdays: The Jayne Hat

This is a bit controversial. Not long ago, there was a big to-do about the Jayne Hat. Sellers were forced to stop selling them. Cease and desist orders were sent out. It was crazy nonsense. I won’t get into that. I just want to focus on my love for the hat itself.

For those of you who don’t know (shame on you, hehe), the Jayne Hat comes from the sci-fi TV show Firefly. Go check it out. It’s on Netflix and may be on Hulu. It is a fun show that died far too early. On one of the episodes, The Message, Jayne’s mom sends him this bright, crazy-looking hat that she knit. The hat is now a cult classic.

Everyone needs a little piece of Jayne.

1. Jayne Cupcake by Kathleen Sperling

7201228980_5e0d1c4045_z

2. Cunning Jayne Hat by Renee Peterson

3257266424_290fe291d5_z

3. Sweet Baby Jayne by Heather Hill

2340552726_35acfd522d_z

4. Tiny Jayne Hat by Audrey Helou

tiny_jayne_hats_medium2

5. Nod to Jayne Cobb Hat Applique by Jennie Claver

014_medium_medium

14 thoughts on “J’Adore Tuesdays: The Jayne Hat

  1. Wow, I had no idea there was so much legal activity over the Jayne hat! Sheesh!

    Gotta love it – I’ll have to find mine as I’m not sure where it landed after my move, other than “it made it here somewhere”. 😉

  2. There is a Like page on Facebook called Being Geek and for months they were posting people’s uploaded pics of them wearing a Jayne Hat. I had no idea where the reference came from since I do not have the luxury of watching what I want to watch (my TV stays on Nick Jr. most of the time!) but now I know.

    I don’t know why they made a big fuss over a hat. There have been hats that looked like that long before the show came out. So sad!

  3. Oh my goodness, I remember all the uproar. I love the ones you’ve linked. And I’m pretty sure there’s a Jayne Cupcake in my future. 🙂

  4. We are all HUGE Firefly fans here, and my son has a Jayne hat which I found for him on Etsy a few years ago. If he ever stops wearing it, his sister plans to steal it from him. Also, my username on WordPress and Twitter? Jaynesgirl.

Comments are closed.