J’Adore Tuesdays: Lacy Shawls

I love shawls. They’re the perfect pieces for adding just a touch more warmth on chilly nights (or in chilly offices). You can use almost any technique/style with them – from cables to garter to lace. It’s lace, really, that I’m loving most right now.

This week’s round-up is of shawls with some lace elements. I just love lace, don’t you? It looks so intricate, so difficult, but taken line-by-line isn’t so bad. Ok, sometimes it’s bad. It depends on just how intricate we’re talking. Anyway, here are the patterns I’m loving right now.

1. Geology Shawl by verybusymonkey

9052548057_25d4046ca5_z

 

 

2. Echo Flower Shawl by Jenny Johnson Johnen

IMG_9496_medium2

 

 

3. Medallion Square Shawl by Galina Khmeleva

1216378203_c061646dca_n

 

4. Whippoorwill by Carina Spencer

5907272444_34aeaf308e_z

 

5. Dinner in the Eiffel Tower Shawl by Jessie Dodington

eiffel_tower_shawl_medium2

21 thoughts on “J’Adore Tuesdays: Lacy Shawls

  1. I’m attempting my first shawl right now! I got Knits for Nerds a while back and am just now attempting the Summer Queen Shawl which is a beautiful leafy pattern. I had started it a couple of days ago in a rich purple but the color was making it hard to see the intricate pattern so I restarted it last night with a pale, mint green.

  2. I think I need a shawl in my life (I know all about chilly offices) but I’m still daunted by them.

    These are all so lovely I can see some being added to be already long ravelry favourites list.

  3. I joined Wild Prairie Knits shawl MKAL this summer (starts on June 21st!) because she does so little lace! Haha! I love the look of lace but it terrifies me so! So figured a mystery knit-a-long would be a good start to take baby steps in knitting a shawl!

  4. I’ve only ever crocheted a shawl- and only made a grand total of 2- that was over 30 years ago! Think I might have to give the knitting if one a go as I just love the ones u’ve shared:) thank u so inspirational.

  5. These are beautiful. I’ve been working on a lace shawl for a few months now – mostly in the basket rather than on the needle. It’s a shame – I must finish it….

  6. I would love to be able to make something like this, it is glorious! I cannot believe how beautiful knitted things can be sometimes, it really is an art form!

  7. I’m re-blogging, too, as I also love shawls. Hate to admit it, but I have quite a few of various yarns and designs on the go, somewhere . . . but I’m working on one now, so that’s alright. ~ Linne

  8. Reblogged this on A Random Harvest and commented:
    Shawls, anyone? If you’re in the midst of winter, you want one, right? and if you’re in the midst of summer, you could be making wone for next winter, in your spare time . . . ok, I’m joking (about the spare time; I do know how busy you all are just now). Still, I do like to share . . . ~ Linne

Comments are closed.