Weekend Wrap-Up: The Nameless Gargoyle

998134_471267552950281_724576169_n

He’s finished! Well, ok, he’s nearly finished. All his pieces are knit, and most of them are assembled. He just doesn’t have his wings sewn on yet.

After a week and weekend of ho-hum knitting, I finally found my groove again. Friday, I sat down and finished the gargoyle’s head: one more ear, two horns, a tongue, and eyes. Saturday, while husband went golfing, I finished the wings. They aren’t sewn on yet because I didn’t closely read the notions section of the pattern (got to read everything, I’m telling you). I need to get some floral wire so that the wings hold their shape. I’ll pick that up probably next weekend. At least, with that, he’ll be complete!

I also spent the weekend evaluating WIPs. What am I honestly going to work on? The fingerless mitts were out. I wasn’t happy with them to begin with, so I didn’t see the point in continuing. I salvaged most of the yarn and set it aside for a different project. The Selbu hat is put on temporary hold, so I unraveled it. I love that pattern, but I have a few concentration pieces going right now. That and I messed up and am not sure where yet. I fully intend to go back and start again. I also finished two projects: Dad’s socks (ends all woven in now) and my Double Bump Dishcloth by Missy Angus.

With a nearly empty WIP shelf, what’s a girl to do? Cast on another project! I started the Women’s Boatneck Top by Lorna Miser Saturday evening and have made pretty good progress already. The yarn called for, and what I’m actually using for a change, is Simply Soft, one of my favorite acrylic yarns. I had a batch in my stash and thought I’d use it up. The top is striped, but I’m making it in a solid colour. The pattern honestly could not be more straightforward. Knit two pieces and seam them together.

How was your weekend?

7 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: The Nameless Gargoyle

  1. Q – Great! I had 3 girls in a 2 /12 year span. When they were little I always called them the “girlgoyles”! Your gargoyle looks so soft.

  2. Cute gargoyle! I saw your mention of a Selbu hat; have you seen the book ‘Selbuvotter’? It’s in our library and I’ve borrowed it several times. I’m planning to buy it soon. It’s all Norwegian mittens, with some great patterns. ~ Linne

Comments are closed.