World Wide Knit in Public Day (or Week, rather)

Baby hats donated by the Waco Knitters (and Crocheters)

Baby hats donated by the Waco Knitters (and Crocheters)

This week (June 8th to the 16th) is World Wide Knit in Public Day, which probably should be week, I know. Anyway, that’s not important. What is important is that during this week, knitters (and crocheters) around the world have taken their crafting to the streets.

My knitting only came out with me last night. It’s been a hectic week at work, as usual this time of year. To celebrate WWKIP, my mom and I went to the Waco Knitters group last night. I love hanging out with these people. It’s so great to see what everyone is working on. Last night, the women were donating 50+ baby hats to Providence Hospital and brought them in to show and then give to Sister C to take with her. I don’t know how they make so many! The table was covered.

As we socialized, I tried to work on mom’s shawl, but I only got 3 rows done. Yesterday morning, I was slicing eggplant on the mandolin (don’t worry, I’m going somewhere with this). I remember thinking, this blade is getting dull, I just know it. I tried to inch the eggplant forward just a tad and sliced into my thumb. The cut wasn’t bad enough for stitches, but my hand did swell up a little. Ken chuckled when I told him I cut my thumb until he heard the word “mandolin.” Within an hour, the swelling was down, but the ache bugged me all day. That’s why I couldn’t knit as much as I had planned. Dull, ha!

Anyway, it’s a clean cut, so I’m hoping to be back to normal within a day. Already it feels better, which is good, because I have work to do!

While with mom, I had her try on her shawl. It has about 4-5 more inches to go, which, in such a light weight, will take some time. The gargoyle still needs his one ear, tongue, horns, and wings. He might get those Saturday, but Sunday is Father’s Day, so we’ll be out with my folks. I did manage to finish dad’s socks, though! They’re all ready to go for Father’s Day!

Are you or have you made anything for Father’s Day? What are your plans for the weekend?

17 thoughts on “World Wide Knit in Public Day (or Week, rather)

  1. Mine came out to the golf club on Sunday – blogged about it today.
    Hope your hand heals soon so you can finish that shawl
    Take care
    Cathy

  2. Q – Ouch! I have done the same with a mandolin and then cussed at myself for not using the safety gadget to hold the potato I was slicing. Hope yours heals quickly.

    The hats are so totally adorable!

  3. Very cute hats!
    I just wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for the WordPress Family Blog Award! Thanks for making me feel at home here 🙂

  4. Wait, there’s a week for this? Dude I take mine out all the time; my son’s gymnastics and art classes, restaurants, Starbucks, the car, a cruise (got lots of odd looks for that one), parks, ect. Ah, well guess I’m ahead of the curve. It’s more unusual to see me without a hook or needles than with. People stop and talk to me all the time about my current or previous projects. 😉

    • I do, too, or in Victoria (BC) I did. Nothing like a big cloth shoulderbag to hold the yarn; I like to do a bit of knit or crochet when standing in line at the bank or such.
      But I had a friend ask me not to bring my work along when we have coffee; she feels she doesn’t have my full attention (I only bring simple things, not complicated patterns), and I kept getting the odd looks here, too, so have cut back to only knitting/crocheting on the bus these days.
      Nice to know I’m not the only one . . . and good for you not letting the odd looks stop you!

      • If you let odd looks stop you, you’d never get anything done! 🙂 I highly encourage you to start doing it wherever you want again. I write everywhere too. Hell, I wrote both my books in random places; lines, Starbucks, restaurants, bowling alley (when I was on a league waiting for my turn).

  5. I’m glad your thumb is ok, mandolins can be wicked! I would have loved to be surrounded by knitters and baby hats, even without much knitting you have definitely made the most of the day/week.

    I made my Dad an OSU Buckeye scarf my first year of college, when I was just learning how to knit. It is a mongrel, dropped and added stitches, the gauge all over the place…he still wears it when it’s cold…really cold 🙂 I am thinking of making him a new and improved one for Christmas this year.

    Have a wonderful weekend, loved the post as usual!

  6. Definitely empathise with you on the cut, I’ve done that myself. We don’t really do Father’s Day, or Mother’s Day for that matter, but I did get my husband a small gift, which he will not be expecting. No special plans for going out or anything.

  7. I think Knit in Public Day should be a month like Dairy Month or Frozen Food month. They are no more important than knitting.

Comments are closed.