J’Adore Tuesdays: Sweater Love

That sounds strange right now, doesn’t it? Who could love a sweater as the temperatures rise to just below 100 around here? Well, I’ve mentioned it before, I’m sure. While outside meets summer, inside becomes winter. Our office is starting to get a chill to it, and I’m daydreaming about sweaters.

My first sweater is Ken’s cabled Sweater for Frederick. After that, I’ve promised myself a sweater of my own, but only after a certain goal. I have to lose a total of 50 pounds before I get to start planning my reward sweater. I’m about 30 down, so there’s still a long way to go (and a long, long way until the final goal). Why wait? I’m a big girl. That means a lot of stitches and a lot of yarn. I’d also rather make a sweater that I can make into a comfy, curl-up-in sweater once it becomes too big.

Anyway, the thing is, I’ve already started planning my sweater. I find myself always sifting through Ravelry, admiring all of the gorgeous designs out there. Here are some of the ones that have caught my attention recently.

1. Jurisfiction by Glenna C.

8125540299_c308b6ee8a_z

 

2. Aidez pattern by Cirilia Rose

5039091347_770004949a_z

 

3. Folded pattern by Veera Välimäki

DSC_6090_medium2

 

4. Old Town pattern by Carol Sunday

7121950139_4c5d5aa37d_z

 

5. Midsummer Aran pattern by Ginevra Martin (image from Interweave Knits, Summer 2013)

knsum13_5f00_midsummer_2d00_aran.jpg_2d00_500x375_medium

11 thoughts on “J’Adore Tuesdays: Sweater Love

  1. Congratulations on losing 30 pounds! That is awesome. I know it’s not an easy thing to do. Good luck with your continued weight loss. I love all of your sweater choices. My favorite is Old Town. Our weather is so crazy here right now. AC one day and the next I want to turn on the furnace. Instead I throw on a sweater and the Old Town sweater would come in really handy right now. Very cute.

  2. Congrats on ur weight loss and what agreat incentive to make ur goal a new jumper to celebrate:) love ur choices and I might even give folded a go myself( looks easiest lol!) look forward to hearing which one u choose. 🙂

  3. Congrats on your weight loss! I’m also on a weight loss mission. I’ve been making lots of open cardigans that will fit me both ways. I have yarn set aside for an Aidez, but I’ve recently been tempted by Teddywidder, another open comfy cardigan. I had to add Old Town to my Rav favorites. I’d love to be working on these big pieces but I can’t take the heat!

  4. Lovely sweaters! My favourite is the Midsummer Aran, the combination of cables and lace is really lovely and it looks like it would be fun to knit! I’ve been contemplating an Aidez with some of my stashed yarn for a while now too.
    Lottie x

Comments are closed.