Weekend Wrap-Up: More to Love!

photo

After a crazy week that limited the amount of time I could knit, this big guy is finally starting to take shape! He now has hands, feet, and a nose. All that is left is to knit up his eyes, tongue, one more ear, horns, and wings. He also needs a little bit of a nose job; I think I want to tack it down a little more. So many details!

I’m ready to move on to something more challenging after the gargoyle. While he’s a lot of fun, he’s also a lot of stockinette and seaming. I can’t decide if I should work on Ken’s cabled sweater next or start on my friend’s multi-colored hat. I have ideas for the hat, but nothing drawn out yet. I also don’t have a hard deadline for the sweater, but the hat is due in August. Decisions, decisions!

First full bobbin from the new wheel!

First full bobbin from the new wheel!

It didn’t help much that I spent most of my weekend with my spinning wheel, Herbert. Something clicked the other day, and while I don’t have smooth, even yarn, I don’t have the stop-and-go issues I did before. My foot can truck along without monitoring now. I finished one roving and have moved on to another.

The first roving I completed is a Blue Faced Leceister roving from Three Waters Farm.ย The one I’m working on now is a merino/bamboo/silk blend. It’s a much different experience the second time around. BFL has a longer staple than merino. I find that the merino just breaks on me, either because of not enough spin or because the staple ran out, and then I have to stop and restart. It’s all part of the learning experience, I suppose. I’m still, overall, having a wonderful time with my wheel, despite these breakage issues.

What did you work on this weekend? Remember you can share pictures of your projects on the Ravelry Group page or the Facebook page. I’d love to see your work!

5 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: More to Love!

  1. I just love Three Waters Farm roving! Yes I have the same issue with merino. I just picked up some hand dyed roving from Manos Del Uruguay and its a superfine merino because I just couldn’t pass up the colors in it. We’ll see how that goes…

  2. I spin on a spindle and I find that I have less trouble with merino.. maybe because my spindle is relatively heavy and gives me all kinds of twist to work with ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.