FO: Georgette the Monkey

Georgette

Georgette

I would like to introduce you to Georgette.

Georgette is a happy monkey who lives with the most adorable little girl, who just turned two. She loves to dance around, and so she stays in her ballerina costume 24-7 (like many kids I know). She’s very excited to have moved out from my dangerous home with two kittens to a place where she may get dragged around at times, but she’ll be loved.

photo-2

I’m so pleased with how Georgette turned out! I had my doubts. Oh boy, did I have some doubts. First of all, I didn’t know when I bought the pattern that it was worked flat. A lot of times, the patterns will say that in the description or in the tags. Nothing. Had I known I was going to have to seam everything, I might’ve passed on this pattern.

On the plus side, because I didn’t know ahead of time, I was forced to learn to seam. Sewing is not my strong suit, so yes, I was intimidated. If you look closely at the monkey, you can see where I first started seaming, but by the end, my seams are invisible. I’m actually quite proud! No more fear of seaming!

Georgette was made with the patternย Georgie the Monkeyย byย Jenny Blackman. I used Simply Soft, my favorite acrylic. The dress was completely improv. I know enough basic crochet that I was able to crochet her dress and then sew it on to secure it. I probably could’ve knit it, but I was getting really close to my deadline. The bow is garter stitch.

So! Today is the last day before the long weekend, extra long in my case. I’m taking a staycation with my husband. We don’t see each other during the week, only weekends, so we thought it would be nice to take some time off together. Plans? Nothing! How wonderful is that? I will try to give some love and time to my ignored projects, but I’m making no plans. I’m quite looking forward to this.

Ok, maybe one plan: Get rid of more stuff! In a weird way, that’s completely exhilarating!

Anyway, I hope you have a wonderful weekend. What are your plans?

27 thoughts on “FO: Georgette the Monkey

  1. I love staycatioons with my husband! Especially with no particilar plans in mind. Silly as it may sound we love to sit and watch the hummingbirds at our feeder. They are so lovely.
    Love your monkey!

  2. Love the monkey, glad she’s got a happy home to go to, sounds like little girl and monkey will have loads of wonderful adventures together. Have a good weekend x

  3. So cute! My daughter is addicted to the Curious George cartoons lately so maybe I’ll have to try one (seaming scares me too but I think you had the right idea, just do it :)!

Comments are closed.