Weekend Wrap-Up: My other needles

A little heart

A little heart

Well, hello, Monday! Normally I’m not thrilled to see you. See, I go from waking up at 8 back to waking up at 5. It’s a jolt to the system that I think you’d understand. This week, however, I’m quite pleased with you. You mark 5 days until my stay-cation starts!

First, the weekend! We had such a fun time this weekend. Saturday was Color Me Rad in Fort Worth. I was a little worried about jogging the whole way, but it ended up being way more laid back than that. My friends and I all opted to just walk and enjoy the day. It was quite humid and getting warm, so jogging would’ve just made it worse. Plus, you get way more colour if you walk. The joggers/runners barely had any!

943382_10100308006304874_397604244_n

As you can see in my picture, I looked like a colorfied mess. I don’t know what exactly happened with my hair. I am willing to bet the wind, plus getting sprayed nearly in the face with a fire extinguisher filled with pink powder might’ve undone my do a little. Still, we had a fun time. Afterward, we popped over to a friends’ place, rinsed off, and headed out for lunch.

The one project I wanted to finish this weekend was dad’s socks. I got really close, to be fair. At Employee Awards Day, I managed to finish the foot, do the heel, and get up to the ribbing, which was quite a productive day for me. Now I have about 1/2 an inch left of ribbing, so really down to the end. A good hour tops and I should be done. I just have to sit down and get to work.

But see, that’s not what I worked on. I have been on this de-cluttering kick over the past few weeks, where we get rid of all the stuff we don’t use. Turns out, there’s a lot of it. One thing is a brown dresser that I’d like to get rid of so we can turn our “time out” room into a hobby room for my crafts and Ken’s golfing and bowling equipment. While cleaning out the dresser, I found my needle felting kit! The picture at the start of the post is my weekend accomplishment. I decided red should be a heart, and so I just went at it.

The thing I love about needle felting is that you don’t have to be great to get results. My first felt project was a tiny blue bird. I think he’s adorable! After that was my zombie, and I still get compliments for him (he lives at the office). Now, the heart. It may have flaws, but I’m really happy with how it turned out.

Along the same lines as the hobby room, I have decided to commit to learning to sew. You all gave such great advice! My biggest issue is sewing straight. When I first learned in high school (home ec), I took to sewing right away. I had no difficulties at all. I even made a shirt that I’m still quite proud of, and we only took sewing for a semester.

Well, this is turning out not to be a riding-a-bike situation. Whatever I had back then is gone. So I’m going to try drawing straight, curved, and other shaped lines on paper and following that to get the hang back. This should be fun! First I just have to get the spare room ready.

How was your weekend?

 

13 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: My other needles

  1. The heart is just adorable!
    It looks like you had fun and got plenty of color!
    I bet you’ll love sewing and pick it right up again.

  2. I am struck by the parallels with what I’ve been up to lately–decluttering is top of my list; I’m puttering along on socks….and yesterday I found a needle felted strawberry I made ages ago. Must be something in the air right now.

  3. I think your little heart is charming!

    Sewing: Yep, takes practice to sew straight. =) Check the alignment on your presser foot. If it is slightly skewed it can throw you off and you end up sewing on a slight diagonal.

  4. Love the heart!
    I agree with above comments on sewing plus, I find it’s easier to sew a straight line if I keep my eye on the needle/presser foot rather than the fabric. It’s kind of like driving keep your eyes on the road ahead of you. Good luck!

  5. Yay for needle felting, I just love to see people doing it! To sew straight there should be little lines in the plate under where your presser foot is and, according to my mom (I believe her), those are there so you can line the edge of the fabric up with them to help you sew straight and keep the right size seam allowance. They do work quite well for that. Of course, practice always helps too.

  6. Good luck with your sewing endeavor! I’ve been wanting to learn to sew myself, but I broke my machine and I’m a little embarrassed to bring it in to the dealer to get it fixed. Maybe someday…

  7. The heart is adorable! My “craft” closet is scary! But, like with any pantry, you need “stuff” just in case. I am hoping to tackle it as soon as I procrastinate doing something else 🙂
    As for sewing, wow, you are right – it’s not like riding a bicycle. I opened my big mouth yesterday and will probably wind up taking the sewing machine out again too! i asked my son if he’d like me to make a T-shirt blanket out of his old T-shirts. Then, panic set it – THEY ARE ALL STRAIGHT LINES!!! And lots of them! What am I crazy!?!? My only saving grace is that he needs to clean out his closet and find a few dozen t-shirts HA! I may just be able to wiggle out of this one! 🙂 ~maria

  8. I don’t know how you plan to store your craft stuff in your new hobby room, but I would suggest painting your brown dresser and using it for storage. You can save yourself money buying other containers for storage by using what you already have. If you don’t want to look at it – put it in the closet. 🙂

  9. Watch your pressed foot, but also most sewing machines have a little plate that you can line your edges up with. Usually 1/4″, and 1/2″. You might find it useful to (don’t gasp) extend these lines with a fine point permanent marker.

    Color run looks awesome, quite jealous 🙂

    What is needle felting?

Comments are closed.