Ah, the weekend!

Very Slow Progress

Very Slow Progress

It’s nearly the weekend! Woohoo! I don’t know about you, but after a crazy week, I’m ready to kick back and relax. Except, there will be no kicking back and relaxing until Sunday.

This week’s one goal was to focus on mom’s shawl. For the most part, I was successful. The shawl has grown a bit over the past few days, but not nearly as much as I would’ve liked. Hopefully I can get more progress this next week. I also need to finish dad’s socks. I’d like to give both the shawl and socks to my parents’ for their anniversary next Friday (which is also my birthday!). I just really need to buckle down and get some work done.

Luckily, today is Employee Awards Day at my job. This year, I suggested (and I’m sure I’m not the only one who did) that the committee should include a crafting area to kind of beat the heat. I’m not athletic. Softball and volleyball just do not appeal to me. We’re also expecting a high of 95 today. I’m in no mood to be stuck in the heat until I absolutely have to. So, I’m going to hang out in the crafting area and knit the morning away! It actually sounds quite wonderful. I’ll finally get a good chunk of time to work on mom’s shawl or dad’s last sock.

So, why will there be no relaxing until Friday? I’m glad you asked! After weeks of preparation, it’s finally here: Color Me Rad – Fort Worth! Color Me Rad is my very first 5K, and it looks like I couldn’t have picked a better one. There’s no pressure in this 5K, and they don’t time you. You just run, get colour and water thrown at you, and then throw color yourself. Sounds like fun! We’re just about all set. I need to gather my clothes together tonight so I’ll be ready. I can’t wait!

When we’re done, home, and de-colored, I’m spending the entire weekend hanging out with the husband and knitting. I’m telling you, I’m determined to get these two projects done by May 24th!

Any fun plans for the weekend? Any projects that you plan to work on?

20 thoughts on “Ah, the weekend!

  1. Phew! I’m tired just reading your schedule! I’m working away on a lace ribbon scarf from Knitty, and would like to get some spinning in this weekend…we shall see how that goes. Have a great weekend!
    K.

  2. 5K time, woo! Congrats, seems like you just started your couch to 5K! I had to quite a few weeks in because of knee problems. Have to get the doctors ok, but I hope I can try again soon! Good luck with your run!!

  3. Best of luck with the 5K!
    I’m making a Dresden Plate cushion for my MIL, I think between minding my baby that will take most of the weekend! 🙂

  4. FUN!!! The Color Run is being held in my city in November…I am really considering signing up. Can’t wait to hear how you like Color Me Rad!!!

  5. I’m traveling to see my family this weekend, and expect to spend about six hours each way on a plane! which means lots of knitting time. Maybe I’ll finish one of my many WIP’s!

    • I would check if you can take needles on the plane, you do not want them to confiscate your work. Perhaps English airports are more strict?

      • I only know about Manchester airport but when I travelled a couple of months ago I asked the security checker about knitting needles. He said they had been told a year or eighteen months ago that knitting needles are OK. (He told me that his wife used circular needles which he obviously thought were a great novelty.) Having said that I’d stick with wooden needles and ones I didn’t mind losing – just in case. I had packed my knitting in my hold luggage so didn’t knit that time but on way back (from Marrakech) I had no problem with the needles but (blush) forgot about a small pair of scissors in my knitting bag which showed up on the X-ray. They were confiscated

  6. Am looking forward to more pics of that shawl; and of the Run! I hadn’t heard of a ‘colour’ run before . . . I really need to make one of those shawls for myself (not that I don’t already have several in various stages of completion; but most are in storage and I need another project [fingers crossed behind back here LOL]) ~ Linne

  7. I am trying to get my daughter’s college blanket done by May 24th, her graduation party date. Not sure I will make it. I have too much garter stitch left to do! Good luck with your goals and your run.

  8. Have fun at the 5K “coloring,” and I don’t blame you for wanting to stay out of the heat yesterday — I know how that Texas heat can wilt a person!

Comments are closed.