New Toys

New needles!

New needles!

My new toys have arrived!

At the start of the week, I bought some new knitting toys, and they arrived yesterday! I’m so happy with them. From Knit Picks, I purchased a set of 8 inch DPNs Harmony needles in size 4, same in size 6, fixed circular in size 0, and same in size 1. The DPNs are for hats. Generally speaking, I prefer DPNs for my smaller circumference projects. I only have metal DPNs, which I love. I’ll pick metal over any other material any day, but with hats, there were just too many stitches and they kept falling off the needles. I’m going to try the Harmony ones to see if they’ll hold better. I really want more hats!

All that talk about DPNs, and I bought the fixed circulars to try 2 socks on 1 circ. Yep! I’m cheating on my DPNs. I’ve seen the technique discussed a lot, and curiosity has gotten the better of me. I’m just going to try it out and see how it goes.

But wait! That’s not all!

Picture from Etsy site as my photo turned out terribly.

Picture from Etsy site as my photo turned out terribly. It links to the product page.

I also bought sock yarn from Damselfly Yarns. It’s the Dean Winchester colorway in Superwash Merino. I was just scrolling through Etsy one day and came across the name: Dean Winchester. That was it! I had to have it. I’ve been watching the show (Supernatural) since it first aired. To be honest, I think the colors match the character perfectly. I can’t wait to pick out a pattern for this yarn!

I’m planning a fairly relaxed weekend with a lot of knitting. Georgette the monkey is about halfway done, so still quite a bit of work ahead of me. She’s my top priority, even though I cast on Ellington Socks by Cookie A last night (oops!).

 

20 thoughts on “New Toys

  1. My first “luxury” needles were Harmony’s from KP. I was addicted to them for quite a while- what lovely sharp sharp points! They *do* hold better, however they also have a habit of breaking or snagging your yarn. KP has a pretty liberal policy when it comes to these needles though, so if you do run into any problems with that they’ll gladly replace them. However, for me, I’ve moved on to their nickel dpns, but yes, I do have problems with slippage from time to time..

  2. I do enjoy my knit picks harmony DPNs. I don’t have problems with snagging, but they are VERY pointy. Personally, I prefer wood or bamboo, but some of that is because the nickel doesn’t play nicely with my hands.

  3. I very much enjoy the Harmony needles but I’ve started using metal needles a lot more lately and greatly enjoy them. Still love my Harmony needles — they’re just too pretty!

    I’m rewatching Supernatural right now. Dean is definitely the best.

  4. Good luck with your 2 at a time socks. I’ve tried it a few times. It’s a little fiddly, but it does ease worries about socks not being even in length.

Comments are closed.