A Monkey, WIP

A monkey ... someday

A monkey … someday

I know. The box looks like it’s just filled with random knitted bits. When the pieces are all laid out, it looks like I’ve been skinning something. I’m hoping someday it’ll look a bit cuter.

So, what is it? I’m working on Georgie the Monkey by Jenny Blackman. I’m using Simply Soft, which is one of my favorite acrylic yarns. This guy is just the absolute cutest little monkey. I’m making him for a friend of mine whose little girl is turning 1 in just a couple weeks (go May babies!). I think that’ll actually make him a she, though, particularly as she will have a dress. There’s no pattern for the dress, so I’ll be making one up.

The pattern is fairly easy and straight-forward. I was really surprised, though, to find out that the monkey is knit flat. I had no idea! Would I have chosen it again had I known? I don’t know. The end result is too cute to ignore, but my sewing skills leave a lot to be desired. I kind of wish the pattern page had said something about knit flat, but I’m fully committed now.

The de-cluttering in this house is in full swing! I’ve even listed some of my stash on Ravelry to sell. On top of that, we’ve got a pile of DVDs and books ready to send to Amazon for their trade-in program, and another load in the “time out” room ready for Goodwill. I think we can safely move down to just 3 bookshelves (instead of 4), so I might be able to get rid of one of those, too! I’ve never been in such a de-clutter mode before. There’s something soothing about cutting out the excess.

That, unfortunately, has been taking up all of my time. I have made some progress on the skinned monkey, but I still have several pieces yet to knit and then sew up. Don’t get me started on the mother’s day problem. I don’t know what to get her! There’s no way that shawl will be done in time, although I really wish I was that fast sometimes. I’ll have to find a plan b!

What projects are you working on?

10 thoughts on “A Monkey, WIP

  1. Can’t wait to see your monkey finished. De-cluttering…it does feel good in the end, but getting through it can be a bear sometimes.

Comments are closed.