Knitting and Crochet Blog Week 2013: Day 1!

8602254927_bca960e097

Hello all! For the fun of it, I decided to join in on this year’s Knitting and Crochet Blog Week. You can find the details (as well as some really cute patterns) at Eskimimi Makes!

For day one, we’re supposed to talk about which house we chose and our crafting outlook/style. The options were:

  • “The House of Bee: Bees are busy and industrious, but can flit from one interesting project to the next as bright and shiny things capture their interest.”
  • The House of Manatee: Manatees are gentle, calm and cuddly. Relaxed and unflashy they represent the comfort and soft side of knitting and crochet.”
  • The House of Monkey: Intelligent and with a fun loving side, Monkeys like to be challenged with every project presenting them with something new and interesting.”
  • The House of Peacock: Peacocks take something good and make it brilliant. Buttons, embellishments and a bit of sparkle prove that perfection lies in the details – like a Peacock’s Tail.”

It was pretty obvious to me which house I belonged in just by reading the descriptions. I’m the kind of person who likes to be busy, who needs to be busy. Idle time bothers me. I always feel like I should be working on something. I think that’s why, like the description, I’m always excited to move to the next project. I like knowing there’s always something I can grab to work on.

My crafting outlook/style is “just do it.” I mentioned that in one of the first Knitting 101 posts. I’m attracted by bright and shiny projects all the time. I almost never consider the difficulty level or if I have the skills needed for the project. Like the bee, I’m industrious, and I’m a bit fearless with my knitting. Have you met a bee that only picks on someone its own size? I don’t think so. I’ve been stung enough to know that for sure. That’s how I approach my knitting: fearless.

I’m one of those knitters who is just going to try. I don’t mind ripping out a few times (although when the yarn is looking rough, I will toss it aside). I don’t really mind making mistakes. I also am perfectly fine accepting when I’ve been defeated. There are plenty of projects you’ve never seen or heard about because I pulled the stitches off the needles, rewound the yarn, and moved on. I’m more about the overall process, and if I don’t love the process, I’m quitting. (Never said I wasn’t a quitter!)

Which house sounds like your crafting style? How would you describe your crafting outlook/style?

25 thoughts on “Knitting and Crochet Blog Week 2013: Day 1!

  1. Ooh this looks like fun! I’m not sure if I’m a bee or a monkey! In everyday life I’m definitely a bee and I need to have several things going on at once to motivate me to work through them but when it comes to crafting I always pick projects that are going to challenge me…I certainly don’t take the easy route!

  2. Definately a bee, me. I just want to do everything I see. I too hate wasted minutes so will have several projects on the go that involve some crochet, some machine sewing, some hand finishing off. Just so I can have a project for any time, any place

  3. I’m imagining a black and yellow striped manatee, with a little stinger on his tail. I sometimes jump from project to project, but what I really love is snuggling up with some nice soft yarn, and knitting to relax.

  4. I am totally a bee. I’d like to say that I’m a monkey, but I only have to look around my desk to see the number of WIPs I have to know that I flit happily from project to project, casting on something new without worrying that there are four other projects on the needles. I also like your fearless description. I started knitting socks immediately after knitting my second scarf, so I suppose that applies to me too.

    I am a bee, hear me buzz! Haha.

  5. I’m a bee too! I tell my knitting friends that I’m a process knitter as opposed to a product knitter. I love to learn new and interesting knitting things and typically start new projects to practice them. By the time I have gotten a pretty good grasp of the technique, I’m on to the next thing! So needless to say, I have a lot of FOs in the craft room.

  6. A black and yellow striped manatee.. 🙂 I love the process and end product of my crochet but I love squishy yarn as much if not more

  7. Pingback: Kniting and crochet blog week 2013 | Organize & Craft

  8. I’m a bee as well, I like to stay busy and want to do it all! 🙂 I always have more than one project going on and more than one book I am reading. 🙂

  9. I’m probably somewhere between the bees and the monkeys. I like to challenge myself with each project, but I like quick projects to that I am always working on something new and I am dazzled by different yarns.

Comments are closed.