Weekend Wrap-Up: Garumph

Amp defeats the chair!

Amp defeats the chair!

It’s been a long weekend. I should’ve seen this coming, after returning home to find a spiderweb of yarn, thanks to little Amp.

He got a hold of some yarn that I had left on the table. Slowly, but I’m sure methodically, he wound it around every piece of furniture in the kitchen and living room. When I got home, he was in the process of going through the rungs of the kitchen chairs, which he is not quite small enough to do easily and nearly got stuck several times. He then proceeded to use the yarn to take down that chair. Oy vey!

Then, I relearned thatΒ I can’t sew. I mean I really can’t sew. The one goal this weekend was to hem trousers. The pants are hemmed, but it’s not pretty.

Oy vey. Anyway. I thought I’d try to use my sewing machine again. I’m still shaking my head. The first leg’s hem went okay. Except for one small detail: I was hemming black pants with blue thread. Then, when I tried to change out the thread, I couldn’t get the sewing machine to work again. Lesson learned. If I want anything sewn, I give it to my husband. I’ll stick to knitting.

The minion is, happily, nearly done! My part is done. My husband will be cutting out the eyes and mouth and then sewing them Β on (by hand, not by machine). That’s how thoroughly I’ve given up the sewing. Then, on to Super Why! I have to admit, that’s a cute little super hero. I have no idea what he does, probably asks questions, judging by the name. Then a mermaid princess!

One of my coworkers decided last week at the gym that I should teach her to knit, which we started on Friday. It was great! I admit I forgot how awkward it is in the beginning. Right now, I can just pick up the needles and start. Nothing complicated. I slowed way down and showed her how to hold the yarn (admittedly, my way and I know there are thousands of different ways to hold the yarn), how to cast-on, and how to start knitting. She did quite well! I sent her home over the weekend to practice and let her know to get a hold of me at any time if she needed help.

Not long before we started, my boss walked by and asked what I was setting up for. When I told her, she expressed an interest in learning too! I may just have a little knitting class during lunch breaks at work. I think that’d be quite fun! So, as I share lessons here on the blog, I’ll also be doing lessons in person at the office.

Time to run away again. My husband and I are starting week 4 of Couch to 5K today. That’s 3 minutes of jogging, 1 1/2 walking, 5 minutes jogging, 2 1/2 minutes walking done twice. I’m definitely nervous about it, but I did cross a big milestone this week: I’ve now lost a little over 20 pounds! So, while I’m nervous, I’m also pumped to get going! Wish me luck!

How was your weekend? I hope it was better than mine!

36 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: Garumph

  1. LOL. I can relate to the yarn scenario. We have two kittens and an entire ball of yarn was strewn throughout two floors of the house around every single of furniture when we awoke. Although I can sew, I often refer to my machine as that “Turrette’s machine” because of the language it seems to bring out in me πŸ™‚ Awesome on the jogging! You go girl!

  2. Good luck with the couch to 3k! My mother-in-law taught me to knit once too… πŸ™‚ I enjoyed it but didn’t keep up my practice, perhaps producing a few scarves before letting the needles collect dust. I think I’m just not that patient!

    My kitty got in similar trouble while I was away last weekend. Somehow he managed to shred the table cloth AND get caught IN it.

  3. Oh I did train him well. He can cook and iron as well, but I will leave it to you to teach him to knit. Good job you did not have to teach me, being that I am left handed!

  4. Thanks so much for stopping by my lifestyle blog Bmore Energy, http://bmoreenergy.wordpress.com/. How funny is Amp? He is so determined in your pic that he doesn’t even care that he knocked the chair over! BTW what do you edit? I am a writer and editor and am actively trying to sell my children’s book manuscripts. KOK (Keep On Knitting!) πŸ™‚

  5. I couldn’t stay mad! He was so funny. Right about this pic, he couldn’t get the yarn to budge. He was growling and flopping about all over the place trying to get it going again.

    At work, I edit technical books, but I’ve also edited trade books like history and poetry and various forms of fiction.

  6. Love the cat. My Roger has decided she needs to sit on my lap at night when I am trying to knit. It is all for attention, and for her it is much easier to get tot he yarn. Cats are so much fun.

  7. What a wonderful post! I have nine kitties (rescues and shelter cats) who like to play the same game as Amp. I laughed out loud when I read your description. Ah the joys of being a pet owner and a knitter/crocheter simultaneously! Gives one a new definition of “patient.”

    Thank you for stopping by my blog and liking it. I’m looking forward to following your blog.

  8. Thank you for liking my Oscar Night quilt on my blog. It’s funny that your last post addresses knitting vs. sewing….I’m just the opposite! I have knitted, but my passion is sewing. It’s great that different people have different interests, otherwise, what a dull world.

  9. I’ve never learned to knit. Crochet barely because instructions are so hard to understand. Many are written badly. I think it’s grand that you are passing on this art at work. Looking forward to reading more.

  10. My weekend contained a huge snow storm during which I taught my first drop spindle class in. My students chose to brave the storm to learn how to spin yarn. We had a great time in the warmth of the yarn shop and I made some new friends.

    It is good to know one’s limits and I’m glad you have someone to rely on to sew for you.

  11. My lovely kitty-kins does this as well. I suspect it is her revenge for my referring to her as ‘kitty-kins’. It is surprising the ability they have to get into even tightly wrapped and well-hidden packages of yarn…

  12. My cat made a toy of my crochet the other night! But your kitty’s antics are too funny! This must have been one of those moments when you’re not sure if you should laugh or cry!!!

  13. Love the photo! I have recently taught my adult daughter to knit as she is due for her first baby in June and I saw her watching me intently while I knitted her baby a shawl. I too, had forgotten how awkward it is for newbies to learn. Two months on, and she is looking a lot more relaxed and natural as she knits. πŸ™‚

  14. Thanks for stopping by our blog!! My cat, Slayer, LOVES alpaca yarn. He doesn’t really bother my other stuff but when the alpaca yarn is in the apartment watch out!

  15. Your cat is amazing! They are thorough aren’t they? Thanks for checking out my blog ourfamiliesstory.wordpress.com. I’ll definitely have to check back here before I start another knitting project. I feel about knitting how you feel about sewing…haha.

  16. thanks for stopping by my blog. Love to see the cat causing chaos with the yarn! Many years ago my grand mother and great aunt did their best to teach me knitting, crocheting and tatting. I was an utterly incompetent student though I tried so hard. And then when I got married, my husband picked up a book and taught himself. Sigh. I guess knowing knots from the army helped. πŸ™‚

  17. Pingback: Best Moment Award | Three Ladybugs Like to Play

  18. For the Knit of It, how are you?

    Good news, I would like to personally hand you the β€œBEST MOMENT AWARDβ€œ. Congratulations and enjoy the rest of the day!

Comments are closed.