WIP: French Maid Minion

WIP Minion

WIP Minion

I’ve been working steadily on the Minion for mom. He’s still a little rough around the edges (and a bit creepy with no eyes yet), but I’m slowly getting near the end!

Mom’s birthday is the end of March, so technically there’s time. Well, there is and there isn’t. Also by the end of March, I need to have 2 knit toys ready to go for a friend of mine. In order to make sure I meet those deadlines, as well as keep up with my other knitting projects, I started as early as I could.

All that’s left for the minion is the bib, adding more ribbon/lace edging, and the headband. You can’t see, but he does have teeny tiny feet. I should’ve made them a little bigger, but I don’t have the desire or the time to go back and fix it. Plus, minions have little feet!

Today is kind of an exciting day for me. Last night at the gym, I casually mentioned the learn to knit series I was going to do on my blog. My friend was extremely excited about this idea and asked if I could teach her to knit. When I asked when, she said tomorrow! So, now I have a guinea pig … er … student to try out my lessons on.

We will be using 24 inch circular needles, one in size 6 and one in size 8, and some Hobby Lobby I Love This Yarn in burgundy and cream. Picking out the supplies was the easy part. Sort of. The two circulars are also made out of two different materials. I didn’t know if it’d be best to teach her with acrylic or wood, so I got one of each. I’m going to let her decide today at lunch which feels best for her. I don’t know if we’ll do lessons weekly, like here on the blog, or every day at lunch (since I already knit through my lunches), but I’m excited!

I’m definitely ready for the weekend, though. Tomorrow I finally get to spend some quality time with my husband’s sweater. Ken has a bowling tournament, and I’ve promised to go. He’s letting me bring my knitting, and since I can sit at a table to work, I figured bringing along the sweater with its pattern won’t be too bad. Plus, I haven’t gotten to work on it in so long!

Well, I have to run away (literally). It’s time to finish week 3 of Couch to 5K, and I need to wake up the husband!

What are your weekend plans?

17 thoughts on “WIP: French Maid Minion

  1. Love the minion!!

    Great job doing Couch to 5K – that’s how I got back into running a couple of years ago, and now I’m hooked. Last spring I ran my first half-marathon and am theoretically training for my next one, though it turns out I’m kind of wimp about running when it’s 11 degrees and snowing….

    Happy weekend!

  2. I am sure the teaching will go well. Hooray for you for passing on the knitting knowledge. Also, soes that particular minion do housework and does she have a small army of helpers? If so I would like to order a couple of hundred.

  3. You have inspired me to crochet myself a minion! 🙂 I wish I had the coordination to knit. I just can’t hack 2 needles, never could. I would make my grandma SO mad…she finally gave up and just let me crochet instead. She said crochet was knitting for lazy people 🙂 Have a great weekend! I’ll be crocheting 😉

  4. I love this little guy! Your posts have inspired me to try my hand at knitting again, my Nan taught me probably 15 years ago, so Ill have to dig deep in my brain! … Along with checking out some of your tutorials haha. P.s I’m totally jealous you get to knit on your lunch breaks!

  5. This little French Maid Minion is darling! I am so glad you are doing the knitting class. I mentioned it in my blog and already have people who may be coming over to learn! So good luck!
    I have also found so many YouTube videos illustrating different stitches. So if the pattern calls for a stitch abbreviation, I just Google it and find a YouTube that describes it. You might put some of those links in your class posts. 🙂
    Have a wonderful “rest of the weekend”.
    Sandy

  6. Haha! Your Minion is awesome! So creative! I think everyone should have a Minion – I’d make mine like Magenta from the Rocky Horror Picture Show. I think the only addition from your picture would be crazy magenta hair. Unfortunately I’m not a knitter, so mine will remain in my imagination. Still awesome tho!

Comments are closed.