Knitting Conundrum: Knitting and Reading

Working on Minion 2.0

Working on Minion 2.0

My knitting has made it back to the office. The picture above is the Minion in progress for mom (though now it’s an old picture since she now has a little skirt, goggles, and a headband). It’s been nice to sit still and just knit for an hour in the middle of the day once again.

A few weeks ago, I asked for reading suggestions so that I could practice knitting and reading at the same time. Well, I finally chose a book. That’s the most difficult thing for me. I have a hard time committing to a book in the beginning. I don’t know why, but I have this irrational fear of wasting my time with a bad book. It makes no sense. There are few books I’ve read that I’ve hated, though those few I’ve really hated. When I’ve finished a book, I don’t know what to start next. For instance, my last book was, I think, A Christmas Carol back in December. I haven’t read anything since then because I couldn’t settle on any one book.

So what did I choose? Catching Fire, the second Hunger Games book. I should say, I’ve read the entire series already. My brother lent me it on my Kindle. Unfortunately, there’s a very small timeframe for when you can read something someone else lends you on the Kindle, so I rushed through the entire series. Book One wasn’t too bad because I’d seen the movie first, and it’s not a bad adaptation (as far as adaptations go). The other two I sped right through, so I’m finding there are things I’ve forgotten or missed. I’m reading it again on my Kindle Fire, but now I can take my time.

I should also add, I never do this: read a book more than once. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve done this. The only other book I’ve read more than once was Moll Flanders because I had to read it for three different classes.

So how’s it going with knitting and reading at the same time? Not too badly. My eyesight’s not great (haven’t updated my glasses’ prescription in over 4 years, maybe 5) so I blow the font up fairly large so I can easily read as I lean back in my chair. The knitting part is easy. The picture above is the minion, but lately I’ve been working on my Milk Run shawl during my lunch breaks. The garter stitch is easy to do without looking, so I’m able to just focus on the story. I’m not sure yet how the edging will be, but I’m getting close to it.

Then I’ll have to decide what easy project to start next or have on hand at work. I’m getting addicted to how nice it is to just kick back and relax during my lunch break. For one hour, I don’t have to worry about editing or numbers or anything (although I do love that very much). I get to just knit and get lost in a book. What could be better?

Have you tried knitting and reading? If you have, what kind of projects do you work on?

34 thoughts on “Knitting Conundrum: Knitting and Reading

    • I usually knit to TV, too. At my job, I read all day, so I need something else after hours.

      Minions are from the movie Despicable Me. They’re cute and so funny! 🙂

  1. I’ve done this for a couple of weeks now, at least through part 1 of the Hunger Games – I started reading Catching Fire, but after a while it was too depressing. Most of the time I was knitting a scarf, which was pretty easy, but I also knitted two pairs of armwarmers, with which I had to be sure they had the same number of ’rounds’ knitted, otherwise one would be longer than the other. It still went pretty well =)

  2. I do knit and read at the same time. Sometimes articles on the computer while knitting, and sometimes a book as long as it is a nice heavy book. I’ve yet to get into any type of ereader, though I suspect I’d like it if I did. However, hands down, I prefer audio books while knitting. (and running, and cooking, and just about anything else.)

  3. I knit and read a lot too. It seems to work best on an e-reader – you don’t have to worry about keeping your page. It usually works fine as long as I’m not working with lace weight yarn and I have the pattern memorized 🙂

  4. I’m still a fairly new knitter. I have a hard enough time remembering stitches and counts without any distraction what-so-ever!! I’d be a wreck (as would my projects) if I tried to read while knitting.

  5. Thanks for checking out my blog! I used to knit and read (study, actually!) all the time. I guess I’ve always been a bit of a multi-tasker. Now I sew more, and that really does require my full attention 🙂

  6. I do this all the time, but with crochet. Once I get a few rows in and have the pattern flowing and going smoothly I fire up my netbook or iPod touch and read as I work. I does take some practice.

  7. Tv all the way I’m afraid … haven’t ventured quite as far as reading while knitting, I’m worried I’d either lose track of the book or my knitting!

    • I can watch TV and movies while knitting and crocheting or listen to podcasts, but can’t imagine reading and knitting! I imagine I’d get too into either thing and lose track of the other, just like Laura said. Plus I think reaching out to flip pages fairly often would break up the flow I get into when knitting. I’ve been crocheting for longer so I might be able to manage that.

  8. I crochet myself, but have a friend who is trying to teach me how to knit. It’s so hard to switch once you’ve gotten good at one thing. Whether crocheting or knitting, they are both things you can do while focusing on other things!

  9. I’m afraid I don’t knit and reading doesn’t go well with making soap but I read in bed instead and there are books that I recommend to everyone:
    His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik
    Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold
    You won’t have to worry about wasting time with these authors.

  10. What an innovation – you may just have succeeded in converting me to the idea of a Kindle… I tend to go for radio plays and audio books for the same effect… My husband, in a worried voice, has just suggested a book stand might be just as effective…

  11. I always say that if I could knit and read at the same time, I would be all set. I haven’t gotten the hang of it though because I feel like their activity is getting my full attention.

  12. I definitely knit and read, unless I have to count a lot of stitches. I’ve also listened to audio books, which is nice, too. I have trouble “just knitting”. Thank goodness for iPads and eReaders that allow the book to be propped up in front of you!

  13. Like most other here, I have TV to go with my knitting. But at one stage I was doing Audio books with my knitting ‘cos I simply couldn’t take my eyes off what I was doing on my needles. That’s not too bad actually ‘cos you’re still enjoying a story while knitting 🙂

  14. I haven’t entered the multi-tasking world of knitting and reading … yet. For now, they’re still separate operations. But I did get a Kindle Fire for Christmas so maybe it’s time to try. Thanks for checking out my blog … I’m enjoying writing and hope to find more readers along the way.

  15. The best I can do is to crochet and read the pattern at the same time! I’m OK with the radio and TV being on if the pattern is familiar otherwise I just make mistakes 🙂

  16. I am an avid reader and knitter. My suggestion would be to listen to books. Once you try it you will find you can enter a whole different world. The hard part is putting either one of them down. If you have certain Kindles you can download free audio books from your library.

  17. Cute minion!! Knitting and reading, yes that is a real conundrum. I switched over to audio books a while ago, but I do sometimes try to still read a ‘real’ book. Lately, it’s been Anthony Bourdain’s ‘Medium Raw’. I’m a slow reader these days. I figure it’s like knitting, in that if I do it a little every day, it will eventually get done.

  18. Pingback: Wintery wishes… | Thoze Were the Daze

  19. I’ve never thought about knitting and reading at the same time! Probably wouldn’t work for me, I don’t think I’m *that* good at multi-tasking, I can only just manage to keep track of a tv show while I knit!

  20. In highschool and college the only way I made it through reading my textbooks was by knitting at the same time! I knit in class a lot too, although that was mostly in highschool cause in college I had to take notes, darn writing interfering with my knitting. But I learned to knit without looking (and subsequently while doing other, non-knitting things) when I wanted to knit and watch a movie at the same time but the movie was in Spanish and had subtitles, so I couldn’t look away! Funny the things that make us adapt, isn’t it?

  21. Does knitting and audiobooks count? I know that when I am learning a new stitch, and I look away for a moment to the TV, I lose it. But after a few times, I can walk and chew gum at the same time 🙂 Reading and knitting sounds like a skill I’d like to master!

  22. I love audiobooks and crafting….. top notch multitasking IMHO. I love your blog – keep up fantastic knitting and bringing those minions to life. M

Comments are closed.