WIP: Milk Run Shawl

20130214-072716.jpg

A cuddly shawl and some beautiful flowers

Happy Valentine’s Day! Or, in my family, happy birthday, dad!

So, the Milk Run Shawl is huge at this point. I’m getting very close to the end. My total stitch count is 239 and I need 293. Well, when I say the end, I mean the garter stitch part. After that will be the edging.

The shawl was a perfect distraction last night. I finished our taxes, and it isn’t pretty. I was stressed out, and the minion wasn’t doing it for me. I’ve changed the pattern so much that I’m now playing everything by ear. I needed something a bit more mindless. Curling up on the couch, I had my shawl and reruns of Outsourced. By the time I went to bed, I was a bit calmer and more relaxed.

I started to do my math to see if I could stop early. The shawl seems to be huge! It’s not that I want to quit working on the project. It’s just last night, browsing Ravelry a little bit, I started to dream of other shawls. I want to finish this one first and try out the Jacquard dye, but other projects are calling to me. In the end, I decided I’m not going to end early, after laying the project out flat. While it’s long, it’s still not terribly wide, and I’m no small girl. I wanted a shawl I could cozy up with at work, so I’m going to push forward.

The flowers in the picture above were a complete surprise for me this morning. When I dated my husband, he flat-out told me he’d never buy me flowers. (I can actually count the instances on one hand when he has gone ahead and bought them for me.) I got up this morning, sat down to knit, and didn’t see a thing. Then, he came out and asked how I liked my present. I was completely confused. Then, tah-dah! He shows me the flowers. Got to love this guy.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

16 thoughts on “WIP: Milk Run Shawl

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day to you or in my family Happy Birthady John (my husband) It’s curious how many people I know born on Valentine’s day. Maybe the real Valentine’s Day (Day of Love) might be sometime in April.

  2. Your shawl is lovely. It looks so warm and cosy. I’d love to pick it up right out of the picture and snuggel with it.

  3. Beautiful flowers & shawl! The day after Valentine’s (today) my mom and dad both have birthdays so the two days have always run together in my family! Thanks for the like 🙂

  4. Love the shawl, have now saved the pattern on ravelry, so maybe one day I’ll have the time to make it! In the meantime I’m looking forward to seeing how your’s turns out. 🙂

Comments are closed.