J’Adore Tuesdays: Black Bean Chili

I was freezing when I got home yesterday. There was just enough drizzle to keep me chilly my whole walk home. What’s a better cure for the shivers than a nice, hot, fresh bowl of chili?

I thought I’d share my go-to recipe. It’s not craft or knitting related, but it’s nice for a cold (and rainy in central Texas) day.

Ingredients

1 tsp red chili powder

1 1/2 tsp cumin

1 can of black beans, drained

1 tomato, chopped

2 cloves of garlic

1-2 tsp olive oil

1 tsp salt

Optional, add 1/4 cup of cheese on top

Steps

1. In a sauce pan, heat up the olive oil on medium-high heat. Add the garlic and chopped tomato and sauté for 5 minutes, stirring regularly.

2. Add the drained black beans and spices. Sauté for another 5 minutes, stirring regularly.

3. Transfer the mixture to either a food processor or blender. Blend until liquid, but still thick.

4. Enjoy!

This recipe yields 1-2 servings, depending on how hungry you are. The spices really are by taste. I’m one of those who, when I cook, throws things in and sees what happens. I was really cold yesterday, so the thought of spicy chili appealed to me. If I had to guess, I actually used more than 1 tsp red chili powder.

All warmed up, I can get back to knitting! Just in time, too. I have a lot of work to do. Do you have a favorite recipe to warm you up or to craft with?

12 thoughts on “J’Adore Tuesdays: Black Bean Chili

  1. This sounds great. I don’t care if it’s not crafting or knitting. I love black beans and they are so good for you. I am always looking for good recipes for black beans. Besides can’t do your art with an empty tummy. Good food helps you keep going on your craft.

    Thank you, thank you thank you.

  2. TACO SOUP

    1 package taco seasoning
    1 package dry ranch dip
    1 can kidney beans
    1 can ranch style beans
    1 can pinto beans
    1 can corn
    1 chopped onion
    Big can of tomatoes
    1 can Rotel
    6 oz. tomato sauce
    1 lb. ground beef/turkey

    Brown the meat and onion together. Add other ingredients, plus water to taste.. Serve topped with sour cream and cheese. Makes large pot.
    Healthy, tasty, and low fat!

  3. Sounds yummy. One of my favourite warmers is sausage casserole.
    8 thick sausages (pork, beef or veggie),
    tin of baked beans,
    about 8 or 10 closed cup mushrooms, chopped,
    tsp of chopped garlic,
    mashed potatoes (enough to cover top of casserole dish),
    grated cheese (cheddar or similar) to put on top (2-3oz)
    Stick the sausages in a casserole dish in the oven, and cook until brown (180C, GM4 ish). Drain the excess fat out. Chop sausages in half. Put chopped mushrooms, baked beans, and garlic in casserole dish with sausages, and stir together, Top with mashed potatoes, sprinkle with grated cheese. Stick back in the oven, turning up to 210 / GM6 ish. Cook until cheese is melted and browned. Eat.

    Pure stodge, but gorgeous 🙂

  4. it’s just starting to get a chill in the air in the mornings in Brisbane, perfect for a quick knit before the school run. But when it gets chilly at night, that’s when I’m coming back for this recipe ;0) -thanks

  5. Thanks for this delicious recipe, I love chili too. When I am cold, like often this Winter, I make a vegetable soup with whatever veges I have in the cellar or in the fridge. I always add potatoes and herbs. An easy warmer that allows me to quilt or sew while it is simmering gently and letting its scent spread through the house.
    Thanks for your visit too 🙂

Comments are closed.