Trip to the City

20130207-063948.jpg

My husband and I went to Fort Worth yesterday for a green card appointment. We had a really fun time, particularly once we got to the yarn store.

I don’t know how, but I convinced my husband that we should go to MadTosh. I had never been, but that was where my brother had gotten my awesome birthday yarn back in May. So we ventured out.

20130207-061921.jpg

What a beautiful store! There was just so much yarn! My husband kept teasing that I was acting like a kid in a candy shop. He’s probably right. I went a bit nuts and picked up quite a bit of yarn. Limiting myself was so challenging, but luckily I don’t do this too often.

I grabbed 8 mini skeins of sock yarn. I have 2 hanks of Manos Maxima, one in a turquoise (colorway M2394) and one in a pinky/orangey/red (colorway M1269). I have another Edison Bulb, which is a Madelinetosh Twist DK, and I also got a Madelinetosh 80/10/10 Fingering in Dust Bowl. But wait, there’s more! Well just one more. I grabbed a Jacquard Acid Dye in Sapphire for the Milk Run Shawl. I spent way too much.

20130207-063029.jpg

My husband tolerated it all very well, as you can see. He didn’t even try to stop me. He just enjoyed the seating.

I quite enjoyed the MadTosh. It was a very quiet store. The past two stores we’d been to, the owners loved having us there and talked to us about everything. I’m not saying the MadTosh people didn’t want us there; it was just a very different atmosphere. It’s quiet.

The staff is willing to help when you want it, though. I didn’t need help as I was just browsing and enjoying being surrounded by yarn. Another woman came in who was just beginning to knit. She wanted to do an easy project before her next class, but she had no idea what to choose. The salesperson helped her choose an easy but still challenging project (her first in the round) and find yarn and needles. She even helped her cast-on to make sure the cable length would work for her project. On top of that, the salesperson was unraveling a sweater for someone who hadn’t done a gauge swatch and so, subsequently, it didn’t fit.

Overall I had a great time. The hanks of Manos Maxima will become hats (I knew that right away), and the mini skeins will become hexipuffs. Everything else? No idea, but the possibilities are endless!

31 thoughts on “Trip to the City

  1. All the yarn is so pretty. I love the bold colors you chose, I am generally afraid to buy any yarn out of the neutral and jewel tone range. I especially love the teal!

  2. I love the colors you chose! The mini skeins look lovely all together. I can see how restraint would be challenging.

  3. Oh that’s just heaven uh? It would be such a dream to get into a beautiful store and buy WHATEVER you want!!! Can you picture that?? Enjoy your knitting my dear!!!

  4. Wow, Looks amazing. I’m really lucky to have a couple of great yarn stores near me but that can be quite dangerous hee hee! My idea of a treat would be to visit some of the lovely stores up in London 🙂

Comments are closed.