Weekend Wrap-Up: Fun Weekend!

It's growing!

It’s growing!

I’ve never done so much in a weekend, and I don’t mean knitting! I think I only just got to settle down a little bit last night. Now, of course, I’m exhausted but ready for the week to come.

A friend of mine from work asked me to go with her and some other women to an opera. We first ate at a Greek/Indo/Pakistani restaurant called Miraj (great atmosphere and good food, too) and saw The Dialogues of the Carmelites. It was my very first opera, and I quite enjoyed it. I found myself, though, just listening to the beautiful music and forgetting to pay attention to the words and plot at times. It was so soothing. We ended up out until 2:30-3 am baking cookies.

I also did my first bout of truly public knitting, to an extent. At intermission, the others went off for various things and I stayed in my seat. I pulled out my Milk Run shawl and managed to get one row done. It’s not much, but it was kind of nice as I fidget so much when I have to sit still.

Then Sunday, I focused on the knitting. I should’ve worked on Ken’s sweater, but the shawl has really been appealing to me lately. It’s so simple and basic, and I can just relax with it. With the sweater, I need to pay attention, which I really don’t mind. I was just in the mood for easy. My husband and I have also been adding last-minute touch-ups to the Minion, as she’s being picked up after work. I’m going to miss her! I will post pictures of her next week, once it’s been given away to its new owner so I don’t run even the slightest chance of ruining any surprises.

I’m looking forward to this week. Ken and I did of Couch to 5K. It was brutal, but I can’t way to try again on Wednesday. I just have to keep reminding myself that it will get easier as we go, so to speak. Also, shifting exercise to the mornings is allowing me to come home, cook, and then knit the night away. I’m especially looking forward to that.

Thank you all again for participating in the Anniversary Giveaway. I’m hoping to do more events like that in the future (mostly because I thoroughly love giving gifts to people; I’m selfish, I know).

Happy Monday!

11 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: Fun Weekend!

  1. Well any time you want to do giveaways I will certainly participate! I’ve taken some themes from your giveaways and I hope you don’t mind…consider it a form of flattery! I love the shawl. Are you knitting it with two circulars for the length? I want to make larger pieces but I’ve hit this wall of…..where do I find 4 ft needles? Hehe 😉

    • Very flattered! I’m using one set of circular needles, but the cable isn’t terribly long. I do have one cable that makes the circ nearly 5 feet, which I get a kick out of. That’s nearly as tall as me!

  2. Oo knitting blog! Knitting’s on my list of things to learn this year! Hubby and I tried to do the couch to 5K program back in 2011, but our work got busy and we gave up after a month or two. Where are you guys up to? Are you already running 5km? And have you always been a morning person? I would like to be a morning person and do my exercise in the morning, but I can never make myself wake up! =( Thanks for stopping by my blog! =)

    • We just started today, so day 1 week 1. I haven’t done any jogging in nearly 2 years, so it about wiped me out. I’m looking forward to continuing, though!

      No, I’ve not always been a morning person (ever! lol). I just know that if I want enough time for working out and getting ready for work and walking to work, I have to be up by 5am. Basically, I’ve banished the snooze button. The second the alarm goes off, I have to get out of bed. It’s not always easy, though!

  3. I love your blog and that you really are challenging yourself with your knitting! I aspire to learn how to knit socks but haven’t made time for that learning experience yet!

  4. Thanks for the like! I love knitting but have been a bit lazy with learning new things recently. I think it’s time to crack out the needles!

    Hannah

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 I love your shawl, it looks so squishy!! Go you for public knitting – I always used to knit one the bus going home from work, I was really shy about it for the first few times, then I realised no one was taking any notice!

Comments are closed.