Weekend Wrap-Up: Finally a Chance to Relax

Well, sort of. Friday and Saturday were crazy, but Sunday was quite relaxing. In fact, once Saturday was over, I didn’t work on anything. My needles remained stationary.

I stayed up until 11:30 pm on Friday working on the minion and then got up at about 8:00 am the next day to resume work. I’m thrilled to say it’s nearly done, but no peeking yet! I’ll post the picture of the final product once everything is complete. I have a couple more details to add and a few things to secure down. After all, it is for a baby so the fewer hazards the better.

I made absolutely no progress on Ken’s sweater once the minion was near-done and I quit for the weekend. I kept thinking, “Gee, I ought to work on the sweater,” but my mind just wasn’t into it. I kept staring over at my yarn and wondering what else I could make. Maybe I just need more than one WIP going on at a time. Now that the minion is nearly complete, I only have the sweater. I just don’t know what to start. I’m kind of leaning towards knitting a hat, but comfy mittens or a cowl sound nice too! Dilemma!

I’ve also been focusing on getting healthy, which has taken up a lot of my time. Since January 6th, my first weigh-in, I have lost 12.2 pounds. It’s been crazy! I’ve made small changes in my life, and I’m reaping big rewards. My vegetable intake is up and my sugar down, but I’m not feeling deprived. I exercise nearly every day, and my energy levels are way up. Next week, Ken and I will start the Couch to 5k program. Why not this week? He’s switching work schedules and wants to adjust first. Anyway, at first we were only going to do this for fitness, but now we’re going to be training for a 5K instead: the Color Me Rad – Fort Worth on May 18th.

I use a technique called “tell everyone so you can’t back out.” I used this a few years ago when I decided I wanted to go to London. My grandmother had just passed away, and I was in dire need of a drastic change. I’m a big chicken, but I’m more worried about disappointing people. So, I told my whole family I was going to study abroad. Then, I decided it was going to be a year-long thing and told everyone that. Chicken me would’ve backed out by the summer, but since everyone was expecting me to do this, I went. In fact, that’s how I ended up meeting my husband! So, I did the same thing with Color Me Rad. I’ve got a couple friends lined up to go with me, so now I have to do this. (Secretly, I think I’m going to love it!)

How was your weekend?

13 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: Finally a Chance to Relax

  1. Good for you! My husband and I started with a couch to 5K two years ago, and this spring, I’m doing a 20 mile race, and he’s running the Boston marathon for charity! Way to make yourself accountable to other people–that was key for me. And I still find at least some knitting time!

  2. Hi. Good luck with your training. My husband was the world’s worst couch potato two years’ ago – overweight, overstressed etc. Suddenly something just clicked (maybe a mid-life crisis?!) and he started using the Wii Fit everyday. Well, this built up into running, then cycling and now, this year swimming! He’s planning to attempt a triathlon soon! Ok, so this may sound a little extreme, but it really is possible, just taking one step at a time.

    As for me – I’m sticking to knitting marathons :0)

  3. I love that you found your husband by doing something a bit different with your life. A great inspiration to get out of a comfort zone! Good luck with training. There is an annual 5k ‘Race for Life’ in the UK which raises money for cancer research. I’ve done it for several years now and has become a great reason for me to get off my bum and train!

Comments are closed.