WIP: Despicable Me Minion

A couple years ago when the first Despicable Me came out, I fell madly in love with the minions. They are so cute! I’ve told my family on several occasions that I would watch a whole movie, 2 hours or longer, of just minion antics. Obsessive? Probably. Then a couple months ago, I was so excited to find out they’re releasing a sequel! I can’t wait to see it!

All this leads to why I was so excited about an email I received recently. I know I’ve written this before, but I’m going to say it again anyway. A friend of mine asked if I could make her a minion for a baby present. She really wanted a girl minion as the baby is a girl. The minions seem like they’re all guys, but I could be completely wrong. Still, can’t be that hard to add some girly features.

After searching through knitting patterns, I actually chose a crochet one. I’m not super strong on crochet, but amigurumi luckily can be fairly simple (isn’t always, but can be). I’ve conquered a couple of those projects in the past. I chose the Despicable Me Minion pattern by Stephanie Jessica Lau because the minion in the pictures looks dead-on. It’s like he crawled right out of the film! The yarn is Loops & Threads’ Impeccable yarn. The pattern calls for Red Heart Super Saver, but I wanted something softer and a bit squishier; of course, with bigger yarn I had to adjust my crochet hook size to accommodate the weight difference.

I’m not very far into the project right now. The magic circle at the beginning through me for a loop (no pun intended!). I’ve done that technique before, but it’s been a really long time. I had to start over a few times until I got it right. I’m finally into the body portion, where I just crochet around and around for a while. My biggest issue is knowing exactly where my row starts. I’m using a stitch marker, but it feels like I’m never quite starting at the same spot. I’m probably just being paranoid.

This little guy, I mean girl, is needed for a February 9th shower, so I have to get on it. I’m hoping that, since it’s crochet, it won’t take so long. I just have to make sure to make time for it. That means that Ken’s sweater has kind of been temporarily pushed to the back burner. It won’t stay there! I’m enjoying the cabling too much, especially now that I’m getting the hang of knitting the cables without a cable needle. I just really want to get this little guy done for my friend.

If you have any crochet tips, particularly for a project like this, feel free to share them in the comments below! I’m not very good at crochet, so I’ll take all the help I can get.

Happy Wednesday!

6 thoughts on “WIP: Despicable Me Minion

  1. I use the stitch marker and noticed that it doesn’t necessarily stay in the same spot, just trust it and all will work out 🙂
    I only started following amigurumi patterns a couple years ago and now love how easy and quick making a doll, monkey, unicorn.. oh there are such a vast amount of patterns out there!
    Lovely blog, looking forward to seeing how this minion turns out, happy knitting!

      • it sure is a change, I’ve taught myself both crochet and knitting, well there was some motherly influence, but I had to create my own way to hold the needles, I’m not right or left knitter but almost both?
        Failed creations are the best because it’s such a learning experience. Years ago while learning to use DPN’s I made a sweater for my kitty, was interesting making it up as i went but a lot of ripping happened.
        just keep trying and it’ll work out
        Despicable me 2 comes out in July, I’m SO excited for more minions!

Comments are closed.