J’Adore Tuesdays: Mittens!

Are you cold? I’m freezing! Ok, freezing from Texas terms. I woke up this morning to find the house was 57 degrees (we don’t keep the heater on during the night). At our house, that means we’re dealing with the 20s outside. Sure enough, we’ve got light rain and a wind chill of 24 degrees. All I can think is how cold that walk to work is going to be and how I need more mittens!

I love mittens. They can be comfy, cute, and basic or have gorgeous cabling or colorwork. They’re fun and easy projects (unless you choose a Selbu as your first mitten like I did, then holy cow!) that don’t take too long to complete. Because I’m really in a mitten kick, I thought I’d share some of my favorite patterns from Ravelry.

1. Phenomenon pattern by Carine Ancel

PheDebbieB3_medium2

2. Horatio and Oren pattern by Barbara Gregory

horatioandoren_z_500_medium2

3. Chrysanthemums pattern by Heather Desserud

Knitty_1_medium

4. Cold Hands Warm Heart Mittens pattern by Jacqui Walker

mitt1a_medium2

5. Chevalier Mittens pattern by Mari Muinonen / tikru

1742563879_1a30d8a380_z

Stay warm!

9 thoughts on “J’Adore Tuesdays: Mittens!

  1. I really need to make some mittens too! I’ve made about 5 pairs in the past, but I never keep them, instead opting for arm warmers because Arkansas doesn’t get that cold either. We had 14 degree weather in the past few days. I’m ready to suit up my hands with some warmer wool.

  2. Those are lovely! I was looking at those owl mittens awhile ago. Have you seen the ‘Chawton mittens’ from Jane Austen Knits or ‘Recess for Grownups’? Although I think I’m going to knit gloves next- ‘Kracken Knuckles’. They’re all on Ravelry.

    • I love the Chawton mittens! They’re so gorgeous. It was hard to pick just 5 to put in the post because there are so many mittens out there that I really want to knit!

  3. Heavens, get that heat turned on, LOL. Mittens are a mainstay in Nebraska. Unfortunately I have only knit them for my nieces. Love the patterns you selected. I might have to get a pair started on my needles. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Those are amazing mittens- especially the owl and the hearts ones! I am most definitely a kitten who loses her mittens, and in KW, Ontario at this time of year mittens are pretty essential. I wish I could knit like that!

  5. I made the Chevalliers fo rmy mom for christmas. They were very fun to cable. Have the owl ones in my fave’s. Mittens, as you agree, are so much fun! Thanks for sharing. I’m going to look these up.

Comments are closed.