Happy New Year!

Throw-back from spending the New Year with my husband (then boyfriend) in 2009.

Throw-back from spending the New Year with my husband (then boyfriend) in 2009.

We survived! I’m so happy 2012 is over. I’m ready for a new beginning.

The year is going to get worse before it gets better for us here, but I’m very optimistic, particularly about the knitting I want to get done this year. No plans, no crazy schedules, I’m just going with the flow this year. After all, when did those schedules ever actually work?

In honor of the new year, it’s quite customary to name a set of resolutions. Normally they include lose weight, get out of debt, and be a better person (all of which are on my list), but I have some knitting-related resolutions I’d like to make. This year, I promise they’ll be a bit more reasonable. I obviously only accomplished one of last year’s goals, which was to finish the stockings. How I thought I could really finish 52 socks is beyond me.

So, without further delay, this year’s resolutions:

1. Complete a sweater. This is a remnant from last year. I promised my husband a sweater, but I never completed the project. It turned out way too big and just was no fun to knit. He picked out a new pattern, which has to be sewed together (little nervous about that), but I’m excited to get started on it. I’ll do it properly this time, too, gauge swatches and all.

2. Complete UFOs. I don’t have many flying around, but there are a few UFOs around the house. The niece’s sweater, for personal reasons, is not included in this list. I’ll make notes and put that away for a while. What is included are as follows: one pair of smocked socks, niece’s baby blanket started in July, and the hexipuff blanket. I’ve been working on the baby blanket since the week before Christmas, so I may have that done before beautiful baby niece is born!

3. Conquer my fear of cabling. I’ve done a couple projects with cabling, but I used the basic 5×5 cable. It’s not difficult, quite easy actually, but there’s so much you can do with cabling! I love the knots and intricate braids, but I’m not very good at reading the charts. I’d like to get over that this year.

4. Knit a whole blanket. A whole one, not just one I quit 1/4 of the way through. I know me, and I’m not going to like this very much until it’s all done. I think I’m choosing this one because once I finished all the stockings, it was nice to just work on something mindless like the baby bias blanket. That doesn’t count as the blanket, either. It has to be one started and completed by the end of 2013.

I’m not going to go crazy with the resolutions. These are the only ones I’m claiming, but I’m kind of excited to get started. I have high hopes for 2013, thanks to both the number and the Pantone color of the year. Now, we’ll just have to see if I keep up with my resolutions. What are your resolutions for the new year?

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Complete UFOs seems pretty daunting all by itself. I hope frogging hopeless UFOs counts as finishing. 😉

Comments are closed.