An Ode to Craftsy

Mystery box yarn

Mystery box yarn][

(Where did Tuesday go? I completely lost that day somewhere in the mix!) Well, anyway, onward! Today I’m going to tell you a special tale about one of my favorite crafting websites.

I’ve spoken highly of Craftsy’s classes before. I think they’re a great investment, especially for beginner knitters. My first class was the Knit Original Toe-Up Socks taught by Donna Druchunas. I had been working on my first toe-up sock and was at the heel. I think I watched every YouTube video on the subject and read plenty of blogs and just could not get it. Donna’s explanation helped something click, and I finally figured it out. (Craftsy even has an app now, so you can access classes on the go!)

Craftsy has more than just classes. This is where the story begins (sorry about the long backstory leading up). Last month, I posted about receiving the October knitting mystery box from Craftsy. I loved the experience, getting to try new yarn that I probably never would’ve picked up on my own. I enjoyed it so much I decided to try again with November’s mystery yarn box.

Now, I know it’s always a gamble with these kinds of things; you never know what you’ll get. However, I was a little shocked to receive the exact same items, save the size of the needles. I had two more hanks of Cascade Hand-Dyed Jewel, one more of Fiesta Baby Boom, and one more of Anzula Haiku. I wasn’t really sure what to do; I mean, it’s not bad yarn, but I was expecting something new. I looked online, and there were a couple others in a same situation. They said to contact customer service.

This was hands-down, the best customer service experience I have ever had. I wrote them and told them what had happened. The very next morning, I received a response asking me to send a list of what I received so that the representative could go hand-pick me a new box and make sure that I didn’t have any more repeats. On top of that, I didn’t have to send back the original mystery box I received! I have a few friends who loved the yarn I got, so I think I have a couple more Christmas presents taken care of! In the end, I received $200 worth of yarn and needles (and buttons and a sticker!) for $40, and I got a great experience that has made me really appreciate Craftsy even more.

The picture above shows all the yarn I received from this experience. The new ones are 3 balls of FibraNatura Cottonwood 100% Cotton in a green (not sure of exact color), 2 hanks of Simply Sweet Whipped Cream (45% kid mohair, 45% wool, 10% silk), and 1 hank of Fyberspates Faery Wings 4 ply in Velvet (67% silk, 23% kid mohair, 10% nylon). They are all so very soft, and I’m really looking forward to trying them out.

 

4 thoughts on “An Ode to Craftsy

  1. Wow! I’ve considered ordering the mystery box but have been a bit worried about gettig a box full of random novelty yarn or something. This makes me reconsider. Maybe I will snap one up in January!

    • I will say, it is a bit of a gamble. When I was doing research before buying my first one, I read a lot about unhappy people who got all cotton yarn and things like that. I’m not always cotton’s biggest fan, but that wasn’t a deterrent for me, so I went ahead with it and have been happy since!

  2. If you get a repeat box, contact Craftsy. You can keep the current box and they will send you a different one hand picked. I got the $100 deal reduced to $40.00 and it was well worth it.

Comments are closed.