Weekend Wrap-Up: ProcrastiKnitting

Holiday Cowl

Holiday Cowl

I’m getting really good at that: procrastiknitting. Because I know I should work on one project, I find myself inevitably drawn to another. Hence the golf club covers, alpaca scarflette, arm warmers, and pompom hat. Oh, and the new projects: a scarf and a cowl!

Every time I look at my stash, I want to try something else, knowing full well that I need to work on stockings. This weekend, I decided it was time to use up some of that acrylic. I grabbed 8 skeins, sat them on the floor, and got out my size 17 straight needles. That was it. I’ve been working on stash-busting all weekend. I finished a very Christmasy looking cowl on Saturday and immediately cast-on for a scarf.

My primary goal is to just get rid of some of this yarn. I’ve done pretty well, too. Because most of the yarn has been leftover from other projects, it’s been pretty easy to use up. I’ve been holding all 8 strands together, all varying weights, and just knitting with one super super bulky strand. It’s fun, but my arms are a little sore. The result is a very heavy and thus very warm fabric. I don’t know if it’ll ever get cold enough to wear these down here, but family up north might appreciate them a lot.

I have decided that this is it, though. I must get back to work on the stockings this week, starting tonight. I spent all of last week not knitting, not one stitch. I couldn’t get myself motivated. I’ve been exhausted and not feeling great, so I’ve been going to bed really early. This week marks 3 full weeks until Christmas, so I really need to get in gear. There are 2 more stockings after this one.

Cuddling Rizzle has also been taking time off of knitting. She had been just groggy for a couple weeks and then sniffly, but now she’s walking funny on her back legs. All she wants to do is be held or to cuddle under the covers with us. Poor dear. My husband’s going to call the vet to see when she can be seen this week. In the meantime, I’ll be learning to knit with one arm as she’s curled up in the other, not a bad thing entirely.

3 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: ProcrastiKnitting

  1. All I want to do these days is avoid my Christmas projects. I guess I should have picked more interesting ones?

  2. “ProcrastiKnitting” — That’s what I’ve been doing this weekend too. I have 2 pairs of socks on the needles that are meant to be Christmas presents. So, I cast on for a scarf KAL, a shawl KAL and another Wingspan. There’s still time . . . isn’t there?

Comments are closed.