WIPs: Golf Club Covers

Covers 1 and 2 for clubs 1 and 3

Partially a joke. He really did want the golf club covers, but, being my husband and knowing my pace, he said he knew I wouldn’t get them done by Saturday. This last statement inspired a challenge in me. I’ve nearly finished 2, and that leaves only 1 left. With a bit of luck and determination, I might just get the third done tonight if I stay up with it.

The yarn is mystery acrylic yarn, and it’s not new. Both the cream and the red are from the inherited stash way back when. The cream is actually kind of soft and not that bad to work with. The red, ech, I don’t know what it is, but it reminds me of Red Heart Super Saver. I hate to diss Red Heart about that line of yarn; some of their other lines are actually pleasant to work with. Just, for me, Super Saver is not for knitting. I was going to save the red for a different craft project, a Christmas wreath. That was also my husband’s idea, but then he picked the red for his covers. (At least I talked him out of black yarn!)

I’m following the Spiral Rib Golf Club Covers by Sarah Peasley. This is a great pattern. I really like the simplicity of it. Now on the second cover, I don’t even have to look at the pattern. I did make a little bit of an alteration. I did not knit these to be about 11 inches, which is what the pattern says. I did one round of spiral and called it a day. It’s not because of the pattern. It really is that I just needed to stop working with that yarn. I needed a bit of a break.

So, today’s mission is to complete this project. I’ll probably take it to work to knit on during my lunch break, and then as soon as I’m home, I’ll be right back to it. At least I don’t have to wake up early in the morning, or for the next few mornings (stay cation!). Then Saturday and Sunday, I want to finish my fingerless mitts before devoting all of next week to the stockings, which have got to get done.

 

