Cascade Jewel Hand Dyed Yarn

Cascade Jewel Hand Dyed 9947

I just really need to take a moment to talk about this yarn. I completely underestimated it; I mean completely. What I thought was a hand spun yarn reminiscent of my first yarn turned out to be one of my favorite yarns to work with yet.

As I’ve mentioned before, I received the Cascade Jewel Hand Dyed Yarn in colorway 9947, which turns out to be called Sillimanite, as part of a Craftsy Mystery Box purchase. I was very skeptical at first. It, at least to me, was not very soft to the touch, and I was a little wary of knitting with such uneven yarn. It was also difficult to decide what to make with it since the gauge would probably be a bit wonky.

I did, in the end, decide on Constellation Gloves by Lion Brand (more like fingerless mittens than gloves, I should add). I cast-on, got a few inches in, and then set the knitting down to really look at it. It was love at first touch. I squeezed the knitted piece, and I have to say, that’s the cushiest knit I’ve ever felt! It’s so squishy, which is weird but kind of wonderful at the same time.

I also have no doubt that these fingerless mittens will be very warm. I had worried that the thinner areas would leave gaping holes after the thicker areas, but that’s not been the case, partly probably due to the size needle I chose.

Because there was so little yarn, I didn’t do a swatch. Well that, and I wasn’t entirely sure how to. These fingerless mittens will be hand wash only, I know that for sure. I did some research before starting out, and apparently Cascade Jewel felts beautifully. With this project, I don’t want that. So, I’ll be taking extra care to prevent that from happening.

Oh and check out what the colors are doing (granted, this is a horrible photo):

See? Really terrible photo, but check out those stripes!

There’s almost an animal print going on here, with the triangular stripes. It caught me completely off guard. I thought, for the most part, that the yarn was all fairly uniform in color. I’m kind of glad it’s not. The variation in color adds more interest to the piece, I think.

Would I buy this yarn again? Yes! I just don’t know what all I would do with it.

If you’ve knit with this yarn before, I’d really love to hear what you think of it!

One thought on “Cascade Jewel Hand Dyed Yarn

Comments are closed.