A Few More Additions

New yarns!

For the record, these were purchased before the “Buy less yarn” goal last week. These are what inspired that goal, which I failed at miserably that very weekend. *Deep breath* My name is Ana, and it has been 4 days since I last bought yarn. Thank you.

Last week, I ordered the Craftsy Mystery Box. Because it was on sale and was 60% less than usual, I opted for the big box, the $100 box. I was so excited, waited for it anxiously, and then was surprised yesterday at the small size of the box. When I opened it, I found 4 hanks of yarn and a set of needles. Not entirely thrilled. That is, until I did some research. I got some nice yarn! I mean, really nice!

From left to right, I have 2 hanks of Cascade Yarns Jewel Hand Dyed wool, Fiesta Baby Boom, and Anzula Haiku. The Cascade Jewel yarn is 100% Peruvian Highland Wool. The label just has a number for the color (9947), but I’d call it a deep chocolate brown, although the picture is giving it this odd red tint this morning. It’s a gorgeous colour, not something I would’ve picked out myself, but that I’m excited to try. I’m also interested by its spin. Not going to lie, it looks a lot like my first yarn, spun out of unknown blue wool, but nicer and more deliberate. I don’t know how this will knit up, but it should be fun.

The Fiesta Baby Boom is a blend, 90% Extra Fine Super Wash Merino and 10% Nylon, and the color is Vanilla. It’s so very soft. I mean, ooooh soft. I think I read online that one hank makes a pair of socks, but I could be wrong about that. Those would be some luxurious socks, let me tell you. This is also not really a color I’d go for normally.

The Anzula Haiku yarn is also a blend, 70% Superwash Merino, 20% Bamboo, and 10% Nylon. It’s color is called Seabreeze. This is a color I’d gravitate towards. It’s just a light, beautiful blue. I’d say it’s right up there with the Baby Boom in ooooh softness.

The needles are Destiny Circulars by Lantern Moon in size 7mm. They’re the Blondewood ones. I’ve worked with bamboo needles before, but not blondewood. I’ve read pretty good reviews online, so I’m excited to try these out. They’re going to be far too big to use with the Anzula or Baby Boom, but they might work with the Cascade Jewel. We’ll see.

Now the only problem is that I have beautiful yarn that I can’t wait to knit up and a list of Christmas projects that doesn’t involve any of them. I don’t know that I’ll last until the end of December. I might have to sneak a project in here or there like I did with the alpaca yarn.

6 thoughts on “A Few More Additions

  1. Such pretty yarns! You could always make a Christmas present for yourself with it!

    I have also set myself a ‘no buying’ rule. All my crafting I am doing with things already in my stash. Until I use up all of something, I cannot buy anything else. Tools do not count towards stash. I have been doing good with this so far except for a couple weekends ago I bought something but I needed it to use up some other supplies I have.

    Good luck to you!

  2. I have the Fiesta Baby Boom yarn too! I got it with a mystery KAL, and I’m not a big fan of the shawlette pattern for the KAL, so I haven’t decided what to do with it yet. I’d love to know what you end up doing with it!

  3. Those yarns look soft and lovely to work with. Any ideas on what you’ll make from it?
    What’s a craftsy mystery box? It sounds like an interesting and fun idea, not knowing what’ll be in the box. šŸ™‚

    • No idea yet, but I’m excited to get something started. I think I want to do some kind of wrist warmer with the Cascade Jewel, but I’m not 100% sure. If you haven’t yet, you should check out Craftsy.com. They’re best known for their amazing classes (which I completely recommend), and they also sell supplies like yarn. I managed to spot the Mystery Box sale in one of their emails. For the level I chose, I received $100 worth of yarn and needles. I loved it and am so thrilled with what I received. I’m definitely going to do this again once my stash runs a little bit lower.

Comments are closed.