Christmas WIPs: Niece’s Sweater

Niece’s Sweater

It’s Friday! Woo-hoo! After the hectic week at work I’ve had, I’m ready to slow down for the weekend. I’m actually genuinely excited for tomorrow. No, nothing big is happening. I’m just excited to relax a little bit.

This has been another really slow knitting week. Sunday-Wednesday morning were filled with baking. I wanted cupcakes at work for Halloween, so I baked those Sunday and had them decorated on Monday. They went in a day early, but cupcakes are cupcakes! I made Martha Stewart’s “Broken Glass” Cupcakes. The glass didn’t work out so well, combination of high humidity and not long enough cooking time. I traded the cream cheese frosting for buttercream as I don’t like cream cheese anything. Overall, I think they were pretty good!

Monday-Wednesday morning were then all baking things for my husband. His work was having a potluck and he had promised quite a bit of baked items, meaning wife had  her work cut out for her. I made 2 lemon loafs and 1pan of pumpkin pie bars. Sounds easy enough, but I don’t use mixes, so it takes a little longer. The lemon loafs are pretty easy. I use the Primrose Bakery recipe from the app.

The pumpkin pie bars are a nightmare. The basis of the recipe is Alton Brown’s Pumpkin Bread from the Food Network. What I don’t do in that recipe is use shredded pumpkin, and I also substitute the cinnamon for pumpkin pie spice. Well beforehand, I make pumpkin “soup” by chopping up two pie pumpkins and 3-4 apples and tossing them in a crockpot for 10 hours on low. When that’s all done, I blend it all into a smooth puree and then use the 3 cups worth of pumpkin from that. What was supposed to be bread turns into this lovely pumpkin pie texture that one of my husband’s coworkers goes mad for. I quite like it too myself.

And I know, this is a knitting blog! Oops, tee-hee. Spent nearly 200 words talking about baking instead.

What little time I’ve had between baking and cleaning up I’ve spent most of spinning. I forgot just how addicting it is, and goodness knows I need the practice. My yarn is still very uneven, but this is only my second try. I’m planning on trying to Navajo ply with this when I’m done so I can keep all the colors together. I have absolutely no idea how it’s going to turn out, but it’s fun to try.

The little knitting I’ve done has been on my baby niece’s sweater, and good thing too! She’s due in just a couple very short months! I’m using Bernat Baby Softee in a pinky-orange color. The pattern is Maile Sweater by Nikki Van De Car from What To Knit When You’re Expecting. The pattern is quite easy to follow along with so far, but I’m still in the body. Problem is I’m a very slow purler. I can knit at a pleasant enough speed, but purling is painstaking for me still, and the sweater is knit flat.

Yay, it’s Friday! This weekend I have knitting goals.

1. Design the last 3 Christmas stockings. One is Doctor Who inspired, one is just pretty (probably more traditional), and the other is still up in the air.

2. Start the last 3 stockings.

3. Get to the arms of the Maile Sweater.

4. Try not to buy anymore yarn. (I did yesterday, oops!)

5. Rewind the yarn leftover from the last couple of hats.

I still have a long way to go until Christmas, but now that my allergies seem to be passing, I think I’ll be able to focus and get more done. The stockings and the sweater on my main priority right now, but the other projects follow in close order. Luckily, there will be a couple days off for Thanksgiving break, which will give me a 4-day weekend to get a lot done.

How’s your Christmas list coming along?

One thought on “Christmas WIPs: Niece’s Sweater

Comments are closed.