Weekend Wrap-Up: Bit of Procrastination

Procrastination by spindle

I’m a great procrastinator, always have been. I’ve taken this talent to an art form. In college, I would calculate exactly how much time I’d need per assignment or paper, and then wait until I only had that much time left before starting. Talk about a rush! Well, it would seem this is following me into my knitting now.

All that thought on spinning wheels and researching during the week gave me such an ache to spin this weekend. I resisted all the way until Saturday (will power, baby!). Then that was it. I could no longer wait.

I signed up for a Craftsy class to help get me started again. I’m a very new beginner when it comes to the drop spindle, and trying to hunt down pieces of information here and there on the Internet isn’t working for me anymore. I’m taking Spindling: From Fluff to Stuff, which is taught by Drucilla Pettibone. So far, I’m really enjoying it; then again, I almost always enjoy Craftsy classes.

I’m working on my “first” yarn, technically my second. The wool I’m using is Blue Faced Leicester (BFL) by Three Waters Farm. The colorway is called Aqua Moon. I love the color. It transitions from aqua to grey and back again. I usually don’t like multi-colored yarns, but when I saw this roving online, I knew I had to have it. It’s super soft and luxurious, and might I add, it’s pretty easy to spin with.

My yarn is still super lumpy, although nowhere near as lumpy as the real first yarn. I go from thread to fingering all over the place. I’d like to keep it around fingering/DK if I can, but it may be a while before I have that kind of control. Practice makes perfect!

I really love spinning with my drop spindle. I just wish Rizzle wasn’t so fascinated by it. She’d go from trying to catch the spindle to “Let’s try to eat some of this fluffy stuff!” Love her to death, but sheesh!

All this is to say I didn’t knit this weekend at all. I know, time is running out! I know I’ll get it all done; I just wish I wasn’t so sure about that. If I had some real anxiety, Mr. Procrastination would not be rearing his ugly head.

How was your weekend?

One thought on “Weekend Wrap-Up: Bit of Procrastination

  1. One of my cats likes to eat my fiber too. I can’t always catch him at it, cause he’s a sneaky little scamp. But I always know he’s been there when I reach down to pick up a length of fiber and it’s slobbery to the touch. Blech!

Comments are closed.