Christmas Knits: WIP Stocking

Working on the ribbing

Is it just me or has this week flown by? I feel like I was just getting up Monday morning and it’s now Friday, with very little progress on most of the projects along the way. Oh, and did I mention Christmas is only 74 days away?

It took a while to prod me forward, but I have finally gotten quite a bit done on the stocking, just nothing else. The colorwork is finally complete! I’m working on the ribbing right now, and then I will go back and do the heel. That dreaded afterthought heel! Ok, I’m dramatic. I’m only worried about it because I’ve never done that before. It’ll be a new experience for me, and another technique to add to my toolkit.

I’m on the fence with this test stocking. I really like how the colorwork turned out. I’m just not 100% sure I like how chunky the sock looks. It looks cozy, but maybe too bulky. The yarn’s weight is worsted, but it’s also a fairly thick worsted (heavy worsted maybe?). I’m thinking of going down a weight or two and seeing how that goes. Plus, I think the other patterns mom found that she liked were fingering or sport. I’ll have to take a look at that.

I do like the colors, though. There is no bold, in-your-face red or white. The colors are softer, like cranberry and cream or something. I’m hoping to really stick with these color types with the rest of the stockings.

The other stockings mom found that she liked are from the Interweave Knits, Holiday Gifts 2012, which we picked up this weekend. The designs are Scandinavian colorwork, which is some of my favorite. They’re so classic and clean looking. I could see mixing and matching the different elements of each stocking to get a really beautiful set. I’m excited to get to work on these! I just have to get the yarn for them first.

So that’s my weekend plan! To find yarn. What are you up to this weekend? Do you have some projects you’ll be focusing on?

3 thoughts on “Christmas Knits: WIP Stocking

    • Me too! Colorwork, to me, is always just gorgeous. I’ve been thinking about making another pair of mittens this winter, too.

Comments are closed.