Knitting Conundrum: Dropped Stitches

One of the most discouraging issues new knitters (and hey, those who have been doing this for a while) face is the dreaded dropped stitch. Suddenly, there’s a hole in your work, and you didn’t notice for a couple of rounds. What do you do? Do you have to undo everything?

This issue was what had be quit knitting so many times in the beginning. I just could not understand what I was doing wrong, and I didn’t know where to turn to fix it. I would absolutely panic. Same thing if the stitches fell off the needle and undid themselves. I would either rip back or just toss the project aside altogether.

Now, I don’t worry about it. I keep an eye on the stitches, and I keep a crochet hook handy to fix any stitches. If I’m mid round and realize I’ve dropped a stitch at some point, I loop the loose stitch around a paperclip or a stitch marker to keep it from coming further undone until I can address it.

I know this can be a big problem. Luckily, many more experienced knitters understand, and there are plenty of tutorials, articles, and videos to help. To get you started, I wanted to share a source that I used that really helped me.

 

2 thoughts on “Knitting Conundrum: Dropped Stitches

Comments are closed.