Weekend Wrap-Up

After a really hectic last half of the week (hence the real slow-down on posts), I had the most relaxing weekend I’ve had in ages. With the rain falling steadily through Saturday and a little bit Sunday, it was so nice to just stay in and do nothing.

Husband wanted a cheap weekend, and with the weather as relaxing as it was, I had no objections! I got my cousins’ gifts ready to send and flipped through my colorwork book to pick some designs to try. I’ve finally settled on one Norwegian star I’d like to use and cast on for the first stocking. This may be just a test stocking as I haven’t really set up a pattern. I’m winging it, to be honest. Then again, I did that with my husband’s stocking as well. That didn’t turn out too terribly bad.

I also finally invested in a set of interchangeable needles from Knit Picks! A while ago I bought two different sizes of the nickel plated ones and fell in love. They’re so sharp I hardly ever miss or split a stitch, and the cord is just so flexible. I’ve known I wanted the whole set for a while, but I’ve been hesitant to spend the money (I know, I really am a cheapskate!).

Friday, though, I unexpectedly received a $100 gift card. That went straight to the needles. While I was at it, I also bought a device that goes on your finger to help with 2-strand colorwork and the magnetic chart keeper. I’ve wanted those for a while to help with the stockings, and since I’m finally getting the stockings underway, this seemed like a perfect time to go for it.

What did you work on this weekend? Was your weather as lovely as ours? (Hey, in Texas, I’m happy to brag about getting rain for an entire day.)

3 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up

  1. Congrats on getting the goodies. If you don’t mind my asking, how do you like the interchangeable needles, are they smooth at the joins? Glad you had a chance to relax and enjoy the weekend.

Comments are closed.