FO: The Cowboy Scarf

Cowboy Scarf

Finally! I’m finished with the cowboy scarf. It took a little longer than I wanted, but not as long as I feared. Now, I’m ready to package everything up and send it all on its merry way.

I’m not sure I’m 100%happy yet with the way it turned out, but I’m happy enough. For the most part, I used the bias baby blanket as my guide until I got near where I wanted to end. Then I doubled up the increases so that there would be a way for E to tie it around himself like a cowboy. Then I added some i-cord to the ends so it’d be even easier to tie on.

G’s Purse

G’s purse is also all finished and sewn up. I’m really happy with how it turned out (even though the picture makes the heart look really wonky; it’s not that crazy in person, I swear!). Still, I really do need to get this intarsia thing down. I knit up the heart separately and then sewed it on to the finished purse. Eventually I’ll finish up the pattern and either put it up here or on Ravelry, for free of course. With four of these “purses” under my belt, I’m ready to try this!

With three projects now done, I think I’m ready to move on to the Christmas stockings finally. I spent my lunch hour yesterday perusing my copy of Alice Starmore’s Book of Fair Isle Knitting for some ideas. I keep going back to those gorgeous Norwegian stars in the book, so I think I’ll use some of them. My older/younger brother wants his to have a moustache instead of a traditional motif, so I may either have to design my own or hunt a pattern up. Either way, I anticipate it will be fun.

I’m not dead set on having 10 completely different looking stockings. I think that if I find a handful of motifs I like, I may just mix up the colours and go with it. Nearly half are going to England and the other half staying in Texas, so it’s not like the two will ever get mixed up.

How are your projects progressing?

One thought on “FO: The Cowboy Scarf

  1. Great job on the cowboy scarf. I have to agree with you/support your decision to not pick 10 completely different stockings (even if they weren’t going to be spread out between so many miles,) when I first got back to knitting, I made everyone (around 25, including kid size) scarves for Christmas, in the end they were all pretty similar construction minus the colors. Now that I have gotten a few more years (re) under my belt I still consider using similar projects for multiple gift recipients. Keep up the great work. I look forward to seeing the pics of the stockings at some point.

Comments are closed.