WIP: Cowboy Scarf

Cowboy Scarf

I’m really pleased with how the cowboy scarf is turning out, even if I haven’t had much time to work on it. With a little kitten who thinks that knitting is the greatest toy since her bunny on a string, it’s been a bit of a challenge.

The yarn I’m using is Vanna’s Choice in Colonial Blue. It’s plain old 100% acrylic, mostly because I’m cheap. I also chose it because E’s little brother is allergic to wool and I didn’t want to wait for an order of something else to get in. Besides, I love the colour!

I’ve been sort of following the bias baby blanket pattern with this. To my surprise, and I love it, the increase stitches are creating an edging around the scarf, even though there’s no purling to make it stand out. The biggest difference is it’s knit on both sides, not knit rs and purl ws. The other difference is I’m making a triangle, so there won’t be any decreases.

To actually get some work done on it, I’ve started taking the project to work so I can knit during my lunch break. It’s been kind of fun to once again sit back away from my computer and just knit or read and knit (finally figured out how to do that one!). Now all I need is a comfy poof to put my feet up on under my desk. That would be too perfect.

The scarf is my main focus over the weekend. I want to get it done, sew up G’s purse, and then send the presents up north as soon as possible. I don’t want these to end up being Christmas presents, so I’ve got to get a move on.

My mom finally decided on the colour scheme for the family’s stockings. They’re going to be burgundy, evergreen, and cream. I’m thinking only 2 colours per stocking, as I really don’t care (at least for now) for a lot of colours in a project. I may someday. I’m open to that.

What projects will you be working on this weekend?

2 thoughts on “WIP: Cowboy Scarf

  1. Iv’e been knitting scarves, just knit on both sides…makes a nice garter stich…I use large needles(19) so I only cast on 8 to 10 stitches. makes kind of a lacy look) It goes really fast. Another thing I like to do is use 3 different textures of yarn–mainly the same tones or shade s of a color. They turn out really lovely.

Comments are closed.