Weekend Wrap-Up: Puff Daddy (the Pouf)

The puff

After hours of perusing Ravelry, trying to decide what to make next, I finally found something I’ve been dying to make for the longest time. It’s big, it’s stylish, and I’ve loved it for a while. Any guesses?

Once again, I’ve given it all away in the title. This weekend, I made Puff Daddy by Anna & Heidi Pickles.  I had found this gorgeous, tangerine pouf at Target that I really wanted to get. I just really didn’t like the $40 (on sale) price tag. I know, that’s really not a lot in the grand scheme of things. I just didn’t think I’d get the hubby on board with that purchase.

Anyway, I dragged out my bulky Loops & Threads Charisma Yarn and got to work. This pouf was made by holding three strands together as I knit. Not stretched, the rectangle measured about 3.5 feet. The knitting part was really easy. For the Puff Daddy, it’s all garter stitch. (The others in the Puff family are made other ways.) I really recommend checking out Pickles blog for the instructions, but overall, it’s not hard to knit this at all.

So am I happy with the outcome? Eh, so so. I don’t think it’s the pattern at all that I struggled with. Knitting garter stitch is no big thing. It was the seaming and binding everything together that I really had a difficult time with. I’ve designated a “this side up” for the pouf, as the other side looks really terrible.

The pouf has really grown on me, though. I’m starting to like it more and more. I think I’d like to try again in a different colour or try some of the other puffs by Pickles. I keep imagining a baby nursery with a pile of poufs for a little one to run into and climb on. Or, even better, a pile of poufs in the living room for someone to crash into and relax. What’s better than a pile of pillows anyway?

The pouf took up nearly all of my weekend. I finished it on Sunday and immediately dove into a new project. My cousin wants an iPod purse like mine, but in different colours. I decided I’d type up the pattern as I worked on the project, too. It’s really not a complicated one, but it’s fun because I made this up entirely as I went along with the Owl iPhone purse back in February. I don’t know if anyone will be interested or not, but I’m still planning on putting it out there.

What projects did you work on this weekend?

6 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: Puff Daddy (the Pouf)

  1. Looks great! Could you share with me how wide the pouf is? Trying to figure out if I can accomodate a pouf of this size. Thanks!

    • I’m afraid that the puff has since bit the dust thanks to two very enthusiastic kittens, so I can’t give you the exact measurements. I believe it came out to the same dimensions the pattern specified (Circumference 70″
      Height 16″). I hope that helps!

Comments are closed.